When did the Mormons move West?

== == the Mormon Church was formally established by Joseph Smith, Jr., on April 6, 1830, in upper New York State, there were but six members. When Joseph Smith Jr., was killed by a mob, leaderless, the Mormons split into two groups. JS' wife Emma chose to stay and Brigham and his group went westward and finally settled in Utah. The two major denominations tracing their origins to Joseph Smith are the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, with over 11 million members, and the much smaller Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, with 250,000 members. According to the Salt Lake Tribune, as of April 6, 2001, the RLDS Church will now be known "as the Community of Christ.... The RLDS name still will be used for some legal and official work." === === Most likely this question is in regard to the movement of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from Illinois to the Great Salt Lake Valley. Before Joseph Smith's death on June 27, 1844 at the Carthage Jail, the leaders of the Church had began to search for a more permanent home away from the persecutions they had encountered in Missouri and Illinois. The pioneers began their voyage from Nauvoo, Illinois and surrounding areas in February of 1846, two months earlier then originally planned. After more then 1,000 miles of rough terrain, they would finally arrive in the Salt Lake Valley on July 24, 1847 which is now celebrated in Utah as Pioneer Day. Over the next many years, members of the Church migrated from Europe and the Eastern and Midwest states of the US to join the main body of the Church. With the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad, most members would travel by train to Utah.