When did the war of independence take place?

The American war of Independence started in 1775 and ended in 1783.

The American War of Independence took place all across the Thirteen Colonies which form the eastern seaboard of the United States. The major campaigns of the War were in New York State, eastern New England, Virginia, and the Carolinas, but there were battles in other areas.

Additionally, allies of the future United States (specifically France, Spain, and the Netherlands, but not Prussia and Poland) used the British preoccupation with the North American mainland to target much more desirable and wealthier British colonies in India and the West Indies. These secondary wars drew away many British soldiers who could otherwise have been deployed in the United States and were one of the main reasons that British General Cornwallis was allowed to surrender at Yorktown, Virginia.