answersLogoWhite
notificationBell

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2013-04-29 18:28:52

Not always.

If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions


He made the game less violent fielders could not tag a runner by throwing the ball at him. Instead, the fielder had to throw the ball to another player, who would tag the runner or touch the base.


no, you can tag the runner to get him out or on a play where the runner is forced to run you can step on the base he is running to.


The runner must remain on the base until the ball is in the fielders glove. Once the fielder has the ball securely(in the glove and the glove closed), the runner can advance to the next base. The fielder can throw you out at the base.Actually the runner may leave the base once the ball is touched by a fielder.


They don't have to run to second base, but the fielders can either tag them or throw them out by taking the ball to second base. If the fielders decide to first get the out at first it states in the rules of baseball that the lead runner can stay at first if that's what he chooses to do.


To get someone out in baseball you must mainly eitherstrike the out with three strikescatch a foul ballif they hit it catch ittag a runner with the balltag the base of a forced runner



he must tag the runner with the baseball


Usually this happens when the runner is sliding in, or has just slid into the bag. It is a measure in case the runner comes off the bag while getting up, or simply a "why not, you never know" kind of deal where they tag just to be sure.


If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


A runner must be tagged to be Out if he is not forced to advance as a result of the batter putting the ball into play.


U have to wait until the ball is caught to "tag up". That is incorrect. Runners trying to advance on a fly ball may "tag up" and advance when the fielder first touches the ball. If that were no so, fielders could intentionally juggle the ball and attempt to pick the runner off who ran too early.


Yes. He/she belongs there. However, he/she cannot tag any runners out. Only the fielder with the baseball can tag runners out. That's why fielders often pass to make tag-outs occur even faster.


You can tag a runner anytime but it's most important to tag a runner when it's not a force out play. When a baserunner runs to the next base without a runner behind him he must be tagged out before reaching base.


Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


On a force out, you may either tag the base the runner is being forced to, or you may tag the runner before he gets to that base. If it is not a force out, you must tag the runner while he is off whatever base he has a legal right to occupy.


yeah but you might be called out depending on the umpire.


if the runner does not tag up and does not get back to the bag after the ball is caught and thrown to whichever bag he is at then he is out.


Runners may tag up and advance after the first fielder touches the ball.


if the ball was caught and the runner never tagged up then the defending team can throw to whatever base the runner didnt tag from and appeal to whichever umps call it was to see if the runner tagged up. If the ump did not see the runner go back and tag and team has appealed to him then the runner will be called out.


If there is a person on base, but there is no force (base runners on base from 3rd, 2nd to 1st, or just 1st)



When proceeding to first a runner can not retreat towards home nor can they come to a complete stop of forward motion. If they do either of these the the runner is to be called out without need of a tag on the runner or the base. This only applies to a runner between home and first.


Please restate your question. Use sentences.



You can tag that runner with a glove or hand holding the ball, while the runner is not standing on a base.