Harry Truman
Grover Cleveland

When was Grover Cleveland elected?


Wiki User

Grover Cleveland was the only U.S. President to serve two non-consecutive terms. He was the 22nd President (1885-1889, elected 1884) and the 24th President (1893-1897, elected 1892).

Although Benjamin Harrison acquired the necessary absolute majority of electoral votes in the 1888 election, Grover Cleveland received more popular votes, making him the only person beside Franklin D. Roosevelt to receive a majority of the popular votes in three consecutive U. S. Presidential elections (FDR did it in four consecutive elections).