Any time a ball is caught by a fielder prior to the ball hitting the ground, with that catch not being the third out, any base runner can IN THEORY advance to the next base after the catch is made. However, if the fielder throws the ball to the base the runner is trying to get to, and the runner is tagged before reaching that base, that runner is also out.
Thus, in a practical sense, the ball needs to be hit sufficiently far that the fielder, after catching the ball, could not throw the ball to the base, the runner would try to advance to, before the runner actually got to that base. That distance depends on how well the fielder can throw the ball and how fast the runner can get to the next base.
Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.
The runner is allowed to leave as soon as the ball touches the glove as that is the beginning of the catch.
a wifle ball has holes in it
If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.
No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.
No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.
It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.
If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.
No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.
If the runner is standing on a base, nothing happens; the ball is live. If the runner is not standing on a base, the ball is declared dead and the runner is out.
No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).
It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.
If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.
No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...
If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.
No, the runner would not be out. The fielder would have had to have tagged the runner with the ball itself or with the ball was in the glove in order for the runner to be out. For more clarification: "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove" This is directly from the Major League rules. Tagging is not just tagging a runner off base. Tagging can also be throwing a runner out as per Major League rules. http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp Read rule 7.08
The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.
If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)]
if the fielder is a) in the baseline, and b) doesn't have the ball, then no. If the runner goes out of the baseline to strike the fielder, he is out for leaving the baseline. If the fielder has the ball, and as a result of the collision he tags the runner, then runner is out. If the fielder has the ball and is trying to tag the runner, but the collision knocks the ball loose, then the runner is out if the umpire felt the contact was intentional, but it is a loose/live ball if the contact was accidental or otherwise part of the game.
If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.
the fielder has the right to field the ball... the runner is OUT if he interferes in ANY way.
no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)
If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.
If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.
When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.
Asked By Wiki User
Asked By Wiki User
Asked By Wiki User
Asked By Wiki User
Copyright © 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.