Where is Pakistan?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-09-16 23:15:51

Best Answer

Pakistan (Urdu: پاکستان ), officially the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, is a country located in South-Central Asia between the Southwest Asia also known as the Near East, and is an integral part of the Greater Middle East region and converges with Southern Asia with the Republic of India to the east. South-central Asia is a separate block consisting of the countries of (Afghanistan, Iran, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan and the disputed region of Kashmir). It has a 1,046 kilometre (650 mile) coastline along the Arabian Sea and Gulf of Oman in the south, and is bordered by Afghanistan and Iran in the west, Bharat in the east and China in the far northeast. Tajikistan also lies adjacent to Pakistan but is separated by the narrow Wakhan Corridor.

The region forming modern Pakistan was home to the ancient Indus Valley Civilization and then, successively, recipient of ancient Vedic, Persian, Indo-Greek and Islamic cultures. The area has witnessed invasions and settlement by the Aryans, Persians, Greeks, Arabs, Turks, Afghans and the Mongols. It was a part of British Raj from 1858 to 1947, when the Pakistan Movement for a state for Muslims, led by Muhammad Ali Jinnah and the Muslim League resulted in the independence and creation of the state of Pakistan, that comprised the provinces of Sindh, North-West Frontier Province, West Punjab, Balochistan and East Bengal. With the adoption of its first constitution in 1956, Pakistan became an Islamic republic. In 1971, a civil war in East Pakistan resulted in the independence of Bangladesh. Pakistan's history has been characterized by periods of economic growth, military rule and political instability.

Pakistan is the sixth most populous country in the world and has the second largest Muslim population in the world after Indonesia. The country is listed among the "Next Eleven" economies. Pakistan is a founding member of the Organization of the Islamic Conference, South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, Developing 8 Countries and the Economic Cooperation Organization. It is also a member of the United Nations, Commonwealth of Nations, World Trade Organization, G33 developing countries, Group of 77 developing nations, major non-NATO ally of the United States and is a nuclear state.

south - east Asia

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-09-16 23:15:51
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


26 cards

More than million people live in Bangladesh

When the Soviet Union ceased to exist Yeltsin and the presidents of Belarus and Ukraine announced the formation of

Israel withdrew from Gaza and Jericho in

The Security Council of the United Nations has members

See all cards
22 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Where is Pakistan?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Which country has the longest summer season?


Is today's Pakistan is Quaid e Azam Pakistan?

No its not today Pakistan is zardari Pakistan

Why does Pakistan celebrate Pakistan day?

They don't. Nobody in Pakistan celebrates Pakistan Day. I live in Pakistan and this is the first time I heard about this. There is no such thing as Pakistan Day. Only Independence day is celebrated in Pakistan.

Pakistan B2B MarketplaceMade-in-pakistan is a B2B Marketplace in Pakistan?


Is Pakistan you?

No, Pakistan is a country

What is the official NAME of Pakistan?

Islamic Republic of Pakistan Islamic republic of pakistan official name of pakistan.

What country was formerly called west Pakistan?

Today's Pakistan was called as West Pakistan till 1971. In 1971 when East Pakistan or Bangladesh got separated from Pakistan, it was named as Pakistan.

What is good in Pakistan?

Every Thing Is Good in Pakistan and Pakistan is not poor

What is the old name of Pakistan?

Pakistan has no old name, it was Pakistan when it created

Where do you find sheer cover in Pakistan?

it is not available in Pakistan and there is no shipment for Pakistan .

What is the farthest east from the red sea?


What part of the original Pakistan is still Pakistan?

Pakistan was originally comprised of West Pakistan and East Pakistan. The West Pakistan provinces of Pukhtoonkhwa (NWFP), Baluchistan, Punjab and Sindh are still Pakistan. East Pakistan became the independent country as Bangladesh due to India's interference in 1971.

People also asked