Best Answer










Other countries and their national/official language:

Brazil - Portuguese

Guyana - English

French Guyana - French

Suriname - Dutch

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-05 18:16:58
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which South American countries predominantly speak Spanish?
Write your answer...
Related questions

How do you say the South American countries in Spanish?

"Paises Sudamericanos" is Spanish for "South American countries"

Which South American countries predominantly speak Portuguese?


Which South American Countries speak predominantly Portuguese?

Only one: Brazil.

Which South American countries predominantly speak French?

Only one: French Guiana.

What are the official languages of south American countries?


What south American countries speak spanish?

Spanish is the official language of most South American countries. Exceptions are Brazil (Portuguese), Suriname (Dutch), Guyana (English), and French Guiana (French), although you will find Spanish speakers in these countries as well.

Why are South American countries catholic?

the same readon south American speak spanish Spain

Which South American countries speak Spanish?

Almost all South American countries are Spanish speaking except Guyana (English) Suriname (Dutch) and French Guiana (French) and of course Brazil (Portuguese).

Why might Jamaica be the only country in Latin America that is not predominantly Roman Catholic?

Jamaica, like most south american countries, was first colonised by the spanish. However, unlike those countries, Jamaica was later colonised by the non-RC British

What are two South American countries where Spanish is not commonly spoken?

Brazil and Suriname Brazil is not spanish and it does not speak spanish

How many South American countries have Spanish as their national language?


Two south american countries where spanish is not the common language?

Brazil, Guyana, Surinam are three countries where Spanish is not the official language. French Guyana is a territory in South America where Spanish is not the common language.

What European countries controlled the South American countries?

The Spanish, the Portuguese, the Dutch, and the English each had control of a part of south america

Which is the biggest south American country where spanish is not spoken?

Most South American countries speak Spanish. Brazil is the largest country in South America and Portuguese is their primary language. Making them the largest non Spanish language group in South America

What 4 countries did the spanish control?

The spanish controlled most of Central American and most of South America

Why do they not speak spanish in South America?

They do speak Spanish in many South American countries. However, in some countries Portuguese is the official language. Many people can also speak a secondary language.

What is the official language in most south America countries?

Most South American countries speak Spanish however Portugese is the dominant language in Brazil.

What is the definition of Latin America?

All countries that were predominantly settled by Spanish or Portuguese speaking immigrants. Virtually anything south of the Rio Grande. Michael Montagne

Which south american countries dont speak spanish?

The only South American countries where Spanish is not the first official language are Brazil (Portuguese), Suriname (Dutch), Guyana (English) and French Guiana (French). However, Spanish is spoken widely throughout the whole of the South American continent as a second or third official language.

What language and religion seem to dominate the nations south of the United states?

Countries south of United States, Mexico, Central American countries and South American countries are old colonies of Spanish and Portuguese Empires. That's for they speak Spanish in most of the Central and South America, but Portuguese in Brazil. All the countries are mostly catholic, because of their catholic mothercountries. The Spanish conquistadors conquered the lands from Native Americans, of most notables were aztecs and incas. Mayan civilization collapsed before the Europeans came to America. The Native American religions were suppressed, although there are Native American population majorities in some South American countries, like Peru.

What religion do all south American spanish speaking countries have in common?

Roman Catholicism.

Countries in America that speak spanish?

In the North American continent, the country of Mexico is the only Spanish speaking country. South America on the other hand, is filled with Spanish speaking countries.

How do you spell south American countries in spanish?

los países de América del Sur

Which south American countries do not have spanish as an ofiicial language?

Only Brazil do not have Spanish as an official language. The official language in Brazil is Portuguese.

What is the nationality most represented by immigration lawyers?

It would be Spanish. That is if you count all the South American Spanish speaking countries as a whole.