Asked in
Countries, States, and Cities
South America

Which two countries in South America are landlocked?


User Avatar
Wiki User
February 08, 2018 11:04AM

Landlocked countries do not have any coast on an ocean or sea.

The two countries in South America that are landlocked are Bolivia and Paraguay:

  • Bolivia is surrounded by Peru, Brazil, Paraguay, Argentina and Chile.
  • Paraguay is surrounded by Bolivia, Brazil and Argentina.

Paraguay and Bolivia.
Bolivia is the only land-locked country in South America. Peru and Chile block Bolivia from the South Pacific Ocean. Bolivia is named after Simon Bolívar, a leader in the Spanish American wars of independence.