Who coins money?

In the US all coins are produced by the US Mint, part of the Treasury Department. There are 4 minting facilities that make coins:

Philadelphia and Denver (mint marks P and D) make coins for general circulation.

San Francisco (S) makes proof sets for collectors, and occasionally other coins.

West Point (W) makes commemorative and bullion coins.

Despite the fact that many people think the Mint also makes paper money, that job is handled by the Bureau of Engraving and Printing, NOT the Mint. The Mint and the BEP are entirely separate operations.