Baseball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Who gets the error if the thrown ball is caught in the baseline and the runner knocks the ball from the glove?

123

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2010-06-17 01:32:16
2010-06-17 01:32:16

This will depend on the situation. If it is a poorly thrown ball where the runner would be out on a good throw the person who threw the ball would be charged the error. This would be an instance where the 1st baseman had to jump or dive to catch the ball then apply the tag. If the throw is a good throw and basically dropped the the person catching is charged an error. If it is an instance where it is a collision at home or any other base an other then the fact the ball was dropped due to the collision then nobody would be charged an error

001
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


if the runner does not tag up and does not get back to the bag after the ball is caught and thrown to whichever bag he is at then he is out.


He is out for interfering with a thrown ball while running out of the baseline. The same is true with a runner running to first base. Tom Seaver said that when he saw a runner running to first in fair territory he would throw the ball into his back to get the quick out.


Yes, the ball is still considered foul if the a player catches it. They can be thrown out when trying to tag after the fly ball is caught.


If he is fielding a batted ball -- then no the runner cant run into him or it will be "Runner Interference" -- if the SS is catching a thrown ball at a base then the runner has the right to "run over" the SS if it is in an attempt to reach the base or continue running to the next base



No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...


No...unless it is determined by the umpire that the runner purposely interferred with the throw, the runner my be called out for interferrence.


Yes. An exception can be caught and re-thrown. It is perfectly legal.


The runner has to run back to first base before the ball is thrown to get her out. She has to tag back on first no matter if the ball was caught before she tagged second base or not. She has to tag back at first to be able to run to second or she will most likely be out.



ONE (1)... and one (1) for every base runner ... two (2) if the ball is thrown in the stands ...


The runner isn't awarded anything. If the fielder can get the ball in time, the runner can still be thrown out at second. The runner is only awarded if the ball is thrown out of the playing field, such as the dugout or the stands. It is then declared a dead ball and is treated like a ground-rule double; The runner receives his extra base.


It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.



Only if he is intending to tag the runner instead of stepping on the first base bag.Answer:It depends on the situation. A defender cannot block a runners path just to be doing it, however if a defender is making a play on a batted ball then the defender has the right to field the ball and if the runner makes contact with him even if he is in the baseline the runner can be called out (more then likely will be called out for runner interference). If the defender is making a play on a thrown ball or a tag then if the 1 basemen "gets in the way" of the runner there is nothing illegal there either.


first base was a force out so the run shouldn't count, As an example if the runner on first had tagged and tried to take second base and was thrown out after the run scored then the run would stand, because the base runner put themselves in jeopardy of being put out




Actually it is possible for a runner on first not to advance on a ground ball, though it is very unlikely. If the hitter is thrown out at first base on a force play before the runner on first is thrown out, he can return to first base if at all possible.



yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.