Who is in the US Judicial Branch?

The Judicial Branch includes not only courts, but the US Supreme Court justices, lower court judges, federally employed prosecutors, public defenders and other attorneys, support staff, clerks of court, and many other people.

In the United States, only the Article III (constitutional courts) are part of the Judicial Branch. There are many other courts in the federal court system, but most of them were created under Congress' authority in Article I, and are actually part of the Legislative Branch.

Only the courts listed below are included in the Judicial Branch:

Federal Judicial Branch

  • 94 US District Courts
  • 1 US Court of International Trade
  • 13 US Courts of Appeals Circuit Courts
  • 1 Supreme Court of the United States