Who is the President of Cameroon?

The current President of Cameroon is His Excellency President Paul Biya. He assumed power as head of State of Cameroon on 6th November 1982. It was a peaceful volunteer transition upon the resignation of the then President of Cameroon, His Excellency President Ahmadou Ahidjo.

Biya succeeded President Ahmadou Babatoura Ahidjo, first President of Cameroon on 1982 November 6.

The position of President in Cameroon is now elected every 7 years since the enactment of the 1996 Constitution (was originally 5 years in the 1972 constitution). The original 1996 Constitution of Cameroon enforces a two-term limit on presidents, but this was amended in 2008 by the National Assembly, which caused violent protests. As a result, Biya has continued to be elected president in each election, although the position is more similar to that of a dictator.

Learn more about the President of Cameroon using the links below.