Asked in Australia

Who is the leader of state parliament in Australia?


Wiki User

Each of the states and territories in Australia has its own leader, who also leads the Parliament.

Current state Premiers in Australia, as of 2013 are:

  • Premier of New South Wales - Barry O'Farrell
  • Premier of Victoria - Denis Napthine
  • Premier of Queensland - Campbell Newman
  • Premier of South Australia - Jay Weatherill
  • Premier of Western Australia - Colin Barnett
  • Premier of Tasmania - Lara Giddings

The Northern Territory and Australian Capital Territory do not have Premiers, but a Chief Minister. The chief Minister in the Northern Territory is Adam Giles and the Chief Minister of the ACT is Katy Gallagher.