History, Politics & Society
Founding Fathers
History of the United States
US Constitution

Who ratified the Constitution?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2010-02-13 16:56:14

Each of the 13 newly-independent States held conventions to determine whether to scrap the Articles of Confederation and replace it with the Constitution. All of them eventually did, making moot the point of whether the constitution was itself unconstitutional, since it was in effect, an amendment of the Articles, which required unanimous consent for that. The constitution said it would take effect once 9 state signed up. Rhode Island was the last hold out of the original 13. By the time it ratified, George Washington had been President for more than a year. Vermont, which had not yet come into existence when the Constitution was drafted, sign on soon thereafter.


Your Answer

Related Questions

The constitution was ratified in 1788.

The Constitution was ratified December 7, 1787

The constitution was ratified in 1788

The original 13 states were (in order): Delaware (ratified the Constitution on December 7, 1787) Pennsylvania (ratified the Constitution on December 12, 1787) New Jersey (ratified the Constitution on December 18, 1787) Georgia (ratified the Constitution on January 2, 1788) Connecticut (ratified the Constitution on January 9, 1788) Massachusetts (ratified the Constitution on February 6, 1788) Maryland (ratified the Constitution on April 28, 1788) South Carolina (ratified the Constitution on May 23, 1788) New Hampshire (ratified the Constitution on June 21, 1788) Virginia (ratified the Constitution on June 25, 1788) New York (ratified the Constitution on July 26, 1788) North Carolina (ratified the Constitution on November 21, 1789) Rhode Island (ratified the Constitution on May 29, 1790)

u.s. constitution was ratified on September 17, 1787

The constitution was ratified by all the 13 states in 1790 .

The Constitution was ratified December 7, 1787.

No one was president when the Constitution was ratified. The office of president was created in the Constitution.

The US Constitution was ratified on June 21, 1788.

The present Illinois Constitution was ratified in 1970.

The Great Compromise helped get the constitution ratified.

What agreement was reached that allowed the Constitution to be ratified?

The Delaware ratified the Constitution of December 7, 1787

The Constitution was ratified by the Constitutional Convention members in 1887.

< The Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution was ratified in "1920">

Who decides how it will be ratified if an amendment to the Constitution is proposed

"The states ratified the Constitution."

Federalists promised to add a bill of rights to the constitution if it was ratified.

The constitution was ratified September 17, 1776

no. it was ratified on june 21 1788

it was ratified by the fifty-two presidents

The constitution was ratified by the delagates. It was signed on September 17, 1787. It was ratified in the year of 1788 in June. All 9 states ratified it in 1787 and all 13 in 1788.

No, they championed the Constitution to get it ratified.

No one. The Constitution was ratified in 1787, and the first presidential election took place in 1788.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.