Ice Hockey
Ice Hockey History

Who started the National Hockey League?


User Avatar
Wiki User

The NHL was founded by J. Ambrose O'Brien (Montreal Canadiens); James Strachan (Montreal Wanderers); Tommy Gorman, Ted Dey and Martin Rosenthal (Ottawa Senators); and Mike Quinn (Quebec Bulldogs). They invited the Toronto Arena Company (who eventually became the Maple Leafs) to also ice a team since the Quebec franchise was financially unable to start playing in the 1917-18 season.