Who was the President during the Great Depression?

There were two presidents whose terms of office overlapped those years generally defined as the Great Depression. The First was Republican Herbert Clark Hoover (August 10, 1874 - October 20, 1964), who was 31st President of the United States from 1929-1933. However it was his successor, Democrat Franklin Delano Roosevelt, (January 30, 1882 - April 12, 1945) who presided over the bulk of the Great Depression, which Roosevelt's administration addressed by instituting a "New Deal" strategy of Government-funded initiatives, public works programs, and overhaul of the financial system. Contrary to the old and increasingly less popular belief that president Roosevelt's attempts to engineer America's economy back into health had a positive effect, economists and historians now increasingly maintain that Roosevelt's programs actually exacerbated and lent much greater longevity to the Depression, which lasted longer in the United States than it did in any other nation that felt the effect of the global economic downturn of the time. It is now commonly upheld in academic and professional circles that state expenditures toward the war effort (World War II, 1939 - 1945) were the only beneficial contribution by Roosevelt's programs toward the recovery of the American economy.

It began under Hoover and continued under FDR.