Who was the President of Eritrea in 2012?

Isaias Afewerki was the President of Eritrea in 2012. Afewerki is the first and only President of Eritrea since being elected in 1993 May 24 by the National Assembly.

Afewerki was one of the founders of the Eritrean People's Liberation Front, a splinter of the Eritrean Liberation Front. After fighting for independence from Ethiopia, Afewerki became temporary leader of the region from 1991 May 29. Eritrea gained independence in 1993. Due to continued border disputes with Ethiopia, elections were initially delayed, but have continued to be delayed since. Further in 2001, harsh restrictions were put on media, and most print media was closed down. Eritrea has not yet had any form of national elections.