Politics and Government
Presidential Inaugurations

Who was the first president to be inaugurated on January 20?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2010-11-19 21:47:49

The first President to be inaugurated on January 20th was Franklin D. Roosevelt, in 1937. Previously, the Presidential inauguration date had been March 4. This was changed by the passage of the 20th Amendment, ratified on January 23, 1933.

The 32nd President, FDR was both the first inaugurated on January 20 (his second of four terms) and the last inaugurated on March 4 (his first term in 1933).

User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

Franklin Roosevelt in 1937 was the first inaugurated on January 20.

He was first inaugurated as president on January 20, 2009.

The first time President Obama was inaugurated was on January 20, 2009 in Washington DC.

The next President of the United States will be inaugurated on January 20, 2017.

He was inaugurated on January 20, 2009.

The US President and Vice-President are both inaugurated on 20 January every 4 years.

He was inaugurated January 20, 2009.

President Ronald Reagan was 69 years 11 months when first inaugurated on January 20, 1981. He was 73 years, 11 months when he began his second term of office on January 20, 1985.

20th Jan 2009 and he continued for 8 coming years.

The first president to be inaugurated on Jan. 20 was Franklin D. Roosevelt on his 2nd term

Every leap year, on January 20

Yes. Even before FDR (the 32nd President) was inaugurated on March 4, 1933, the 20th Amendment was ratified, changing the inauguration date to January 20. So his first term was shortened, ending on January 20, 1937 when he was sworn in for his second.

President Barack Obama was inaugurated on Tuesday, 20 January 2009, in Washington D.C. at the United States Capitol.

New presidents are inaugurated on January 20, of the year following their election.

He was 64 when he was inaugurated President on January 20, 1989 (born June 12, 1924). He was 56 at his first inauguration as Vice President in 1981.

Donald Trump was inaugurated as President on January 20, 2017.

January 20 same day every year :)

It's not so much the day as it is the date. The US Constitution mandates the President be sworn in (inaugurated) on 20 January every four years.

He is scheduled to be inaugurated president at noon on January 20, 2017.

The US President is elected on Election Day in November, preceeding the completion of the last President's term. The new President is inaugurated on 20 January.

US presidents are inaugurated at noon on January 20, of the year following the national election in November.

She became first lady on Tuesday, January 20, 2009, when her husband was inaugurated as the US president.

He was inaugurated on the 20th of January 1993.

The President of the U.S. is sworn in or inaugurated on January 20th. The date is called Inauguration Day.

The US President is inaugurated on 20 January every 4 years.

Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.