Who was the president in 1905?

This depends on the country/organization. See related questions.

US: Theodore (Teddy) Roosevelt.

Theodore Roosevelt was the 26th President of the United States from 1901 September 14 to 1909 March 4. He would later break with the Republican party after the renomination of Taft, forming the Progressive (Bull Moose) Party, and unsuccessfully running for president a third time.