History of the United States
US Presidents

Who was the president that made Thanksgiving a legal holiday in 1816?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-12-27 21:53:20

I believe it to be Lincoln in 1863.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

James Monroe was the president in 1816 and he represented Jefferson's Republican party,

The Continental Congress proclaimed a Thanksgiving holiday (December 18) in 1777, and Washington proclaimed a Thanksgiving day (Nov. 26th) in 1789. Adams did likewise in 1798 and 1799. Jefferson did not proclaim any such holiday, believing it to be an impermissible conflation of church and state. Madison proclaimed holidays in 1814 and 1815. From 1816 to 1863, there was no federal Thanksgiving, but by the end of that period, most states had established the holiday. Thanksgiving was established annually by presidential proclamation (frequently expressed as a "recommendation" by the president) from 1863 until 1941, when Congress established it as a recurring national holiday. Lincoln's proclamation in 1863 is generally regarded as establishing the national holiday, but it really only proclaimed it for that year. It did, however, establish a precedent followed by his successors, including Andrew Johnson (though in 1865, the holiday occurred in December). In the 1930's, FDR attempted to move the date back one week to enlarge the holiday shopping period, but Congress set the date, and firmly established the holiday, in 1941. Presidents continue to proclaim it, though the proclamation is now superfluous.

That was James Monroe, the 5th President.

Following the death of the fifth vice-President of the United States, Elbridge Gerry, on November 23, 1814, there was a vacancy in the role of vice-President in the year 1816.

James Madison was the President of the United States in 1816.James Madison (born March 16, 1751 in Port Conway, Virginia; died June 28, 1836 in Montpelier, Virginia) succeeded Thomas Jefferson as the fourth President of the United States, serving between March 4, 1809 and March 4, 1817, including the whole of the year 1816.In 1816, James Monroe was elected to be the next President of the United States.

James Madison was the President of the United States in 1816.James Madison was the 4th President of the United States from 1809 March 4 to 1817 March 4, serving 2 terms. He was previously the Secretary of State in Thomas Jefferson's government.

There was no U.S. Vice President in 1816. Elbridge Gerry had been elected to the term that began in 1813 and ended in 1817, but he died in November of 1814. Before ratification of the 25th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution in 1967, whenever the vice presidency became vacant, it remained vacant until the next Inauguration Day. Daniel D. Tompkins was elected Vice President in 1816, but his first term began in 1817.

James Madison was elected as president in November of 1816. He took office in March of 1817 as the fifth president.

Indiana was admitted to the Union on December 11, 1816 by President James Madison.Indiana was admitted to the Union on December 11, 1816.

The winner of the 1816 Presidential election was Secretary of State James Monroe, who won the votes of the Electoral College by a margin of 183 to 34.

James Monroe was elected president in November of 1816 and took office March 4, 1817.

James Madison was the President on December 11, 1816 when Indiana became a state.

James Madison became president on 1808 to 1812. Then he was reelected from 1812 to 1816James Madison was President from 1809-1817.

Hawaii had a monarchy at that time. Kamehameha was the king of Hawaii from 1810 to 1819.

1789. Then ran for president in 1816, but lost to James Monroe.

No it did not. It was vetoed by the president at the time(forget which one) on the grounds that it was unconstitutional.

The LCM of 1816 and 9 is 16,344

John C. Calhoun accepted the Tariff of 1816 because he thought the South would become a major manufacturing area. John C. Calhoun was also the Vice President of the United States.

Daniel Webster opposed the tariff of 1816.

No US dimes were minted in 1816.

1816 was known as the Year Without a Summer

In 1816, Congress created the first permanent committees for the Senate. They created 12 legislative committees in December of 1816.

James Monroe won the election with Daniel Tompkins as his Vice President. ***This information is useful because I got this from school.