History of the United States
US Presidents
US Constitution

Who were the presidents of the United States during the 1950's and 1960's?

User Avatar
Wiki User
November 03, 2009 8:02PM


President Franklin Delano Roosevelt died in office at 4:35 P. M.

on April 12, 1945, and Vice President Harry Truman was sworn in as

President the same day. Truman was reelected in 1948 and served a

full four year term, but did not seek another term in 1952.

Dwight Eisenhower was elected President in 1952 and reelected in


John Fitzgerald Kennedy was elected President in 1960 and served

until he was assassinated on Friday, November 22, 1963. Vice

President Lyndon Johnson was sworn in the same day, and was

reelected in 1964, but did not seek another term.

Richard Nixon was elected President in 1968, was reelected in

1972, and resigned from office at noon on Friday, August 9,


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.