Politics and Government
Nobel Prize
Alfred Nobel
Nobel Prize Winners

Who won the first Nobel Prize?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
September 08, 2014 2:21PM

Nobel Prizes are awarded for five categories, and there can be more than one winner in any of them.

In 1901, the first prize for Chemistry was awarded to Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen ;

the first prize for Literature was awarded to Sully Prudhomme;

the first prize for Medicine was awarded to Emil von Behring;

Henry Dunant and Frédéric Passy were both awarded the first prizes for Peace;

and the first prize for Physics was awarded to Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen.

In 1969, Ragnar Frisch & Jan Tinbergen won the first Nobel Prizes for Economics.