Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2012-04-13 18:57:27

They are called the terrestrial planets because they are similar to Earth (in fact one of them is Earth.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

In order from the Sun these planets are: Mercury, Venus Earth and Mars. Yes, they are called "terrestrial planets" and also the "Inner Planets".

The 4 Planets closet to the sun are Mercury, Venus, Earth, & Mars. the inner or terrestrial planets

Mercury, Venus, Earth, & Mars because they are the fourth closest to the sun

The inner planets closest to the sun are called rocky or terrestrial: Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars for a total of four.

Terrestrial are the planets closest to the sun - Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars. Gaseous are the rest, up to Uranus.

The inner planets are called "rocky" or terrestrial, a name which underscores the contrast with the outer gas giant planets.

Mercury is the closest planets to the sun, and is `rocky` so is also the closest rocky (or terrestrial) planet.

Jupiter is the closest of the jovian planets to the sun. Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars are closer to the sun than Jupiter, but they are terrestrial planets, not Jovian.

the planets that are orbiting our sun are Murcury Venus, Earth Mars Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune (in that order) the closest planets to the sun are classified as terrestrial planets. (inner planets). these planets include Murcury, Venus, Earth, and Mars.

Made of solid material, small, closest to sun.

Mercury is one of the four inner terrestrial planets, or rocky planets. It is the smallest of the four and closest to the sun. It is also the smallest of all eight planets.

The first four planets closest to the Sun are the four terrestial planets.

The terrestrial planets, those nearest the Sun, include Mercury - closest to the Sun - Venus, Earth (in Latin: Terra), and Mars.

The planet Mercury is not only the smallest of the terrestrial planets in our Solar system, but it is also the one closest to the Sun.

The 4 planets closest to the sun are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars.

the first 4 planets near the sun are called the inner planets or the terrestrial planets as they are made of rocks. the outer planets (jupiter, uranus, neptune and pluto) are called the outer planets or the jovian planets.. theis is because they are made up of liquids/gases.... hope it helped! thanx!! :)

The sun is made up of 74% hydrogen and 24% helium. It is also the center of the universe and the planets orbit around it. Those planets include terrestrial planets and gaseous planets. Terrestrial planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. They are also the planets closest to the sun. Gaseous planets, or "Gas Giants" include Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

Terrestrial planets are solid and gaseous planets are made of gas. Gaseous planets are huge and terrestrial planets are small. Gas giants are far from the sun and terrestrial planets are close to the sun.

Both Jovian planets and Terrestrial planets share a similar amount of characteristics. For example, Jovian planets are gaseous, large and farthest from the sun. While Terrestrial planets are rocky, dense, closest to the sun and small (in comparison to Jovian planets). The two planets with the most similarities are Venus and Earth hence them being called "sister planets" due to to their similar masses.

The four planets closest to the sun are called the inner planets. They are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. The asteroid belt lies between the inner and outer planets.

"The Inner Planets" is the common term for the four planets closest to our sun.

The old Latin word for Earth is 'Terra'. A word meaning 'like Terra' is 'Terrestrial'.So, it follows that 'terrestrial planets' are planets like Terra (Earth) That means they are rocky and closer to the Sun than the gas giant planets.The 4 terrestrial planets, starting with the one nearest the Sun are:Mercury, the closest to the SunVenus, the hottestEarth, the one supporting lifeMars, the red one with channels.

Starting with the closest to the Sun: Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars.