Why does Chicago have two baseball teams?

Back when there were two competing leagues Chicago had a team in each league. When the American and National leagues merged to create Major League Baseball, Chicago kept both teams. Now they have one team in each division. Just like New York has the Mets and the Yankees, Chicago has the White Soxs and the Cubs. The White Sox are in the American League, and the Cubs are in the National league.

nope that's not why. its because the cubs were there first. they sucked so bad that Chicago needed to bring in a team to make Chicago not look bad. so that's how they got the sox LOL

Because they can