answersLogoWhite

0

  • Citizenship and Marriage
  • Age of Consent & Underage Relationships
  • Oregon

Why does a 17-year-old who has been in a long-term relationship need parental permission to get married?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2006-08-14 18:05:49

Best Answer
Copy

Quite simply it is the law. Persons under the age of the legal majority (18) must have parental or guardian consent or permission from the court to marry. A few states waive the necessity for parental consent if special circumstances exist. Even under such circumstances most of these states require the minor to obtain the permission of the court. You are still a minor under your state's laws, regardless if your parents approve of your wish to marry or not. Your parents are considered, until you are 18 or have been legally emancipated, responsible for your overall welfare and the choices you make. If you have been in a relationship for four years, waiting another year before making a major life decision is in your best interest. Because even though you and your partner have been together for a long time and you feel you're mature and ready for marriage, you are still considered a juvenile. Legally, you cannot enter into a binding contract because -- and you'll only appreciate this many years from now -- you're really still a kid and young people often change their minds or are unequipped to deal with long-term consequences, no matter how ready they feel. Wait another year; it sounds like you have a strong, healthy relationship. Do yourselves a favor and start the rest of your lives the right way. Good luck.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2006-08-14 18:05:49
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

What state can you get a tattoo at 16 with parental permission?

you can get a tattoo with parental permission in any state


What is parental permission?

can a minor in the state of Missouri be emancipated with parental permission at the age of 15


How old do you have to be to go out on dates without parental permission?

18, until then you need parental permission.


What is the legal age to quit school in Louisiana?

It is 18 years of age, or 16 years of age with parental permission.It is 18 years of age, or 16 years of age with parental permission.It is 18 years of age, or 16 years of age with parental permission.It is 18 years of age, or 16 years of age with parental permission.It is 18 years of age, or 16 years of age with parental permission.It is 18 years of age, or 16 years of age with parental permission.


Can you get engaged at age 15 without parental permission?

You can get engaged without parental permission, you just can't get married until you are 18 without their permission.


Age and relationship requirements for marriage in Mississippi?

In Mississippi you have to be at least 21 to get married without permission. With parental permission you can get married at 17 for the boy with permission. A girl can get married at 15, but it also requires her parent's consent.


Can you be 17 and get married in Virginia?

Yes, if you have parental permission. If you don't have parental permission you have to wait until you're 18.


If you are an emancipated minor do you need parental permission to get married?

No, if you are emancipated, you do not need parental permission to marry. But it might be easier just to get their permission, in that marriage emancipates a minor.


In texas can a minor and person over 18 have a relationship with parent permission?

no. that is still considered statutory rape. even with parental consent.


Can a pregnant sixteen year old in the State of Michigan marry an over eighteen man with parental permission?

With parental permission, yes, she can.


What is the piercing ages in North Carolina?

18.. if your younger you have to have parental permission With parental permission, you still have to be at least 14 years of age.


Is it illegal for a 14 and a 18 year old to get married in ny with parental permission?

Yes, it is illegal you will have to be 16 to get married with parental permission.


Can a 16 year old marry a 21 year old in GA?

If they have parental permission, yes they can. If they don't have parental permission, no they cannot.


What is the youngest age to get married in England?

Without permission you have to be 18 in England. You can get married in England at age 16 with parental permission. I believe Ireland does not require parental permission at that age.


How old to volunteer in World War 2?

Seventeen with parental consent. The mimimum age was 17 with parental permission, 18 without their permission.


Can a 12 year old get marrierd with there parental permission?

No, a twelve year old in Western countries cannot get married even with parental permission.


What is the legal age for marriage without parental consent in Florida?

In Florida you must be at least 18 to get married without permission. With parental permission you can get married at 16. If there is a doctor's certificate of pregnancy and a court order, a license can be issued without parental permission.


Age of a Marine?

Seventeen with parental permission.


What is the minmum age to get married for girl in England?

You can get married in most places at age 16 with parental permission. I believe Ireland does not require parental permission at that age. Without permission you have to be 18 in England.


What country can you get married without parental permission?

Parental permission is never required if you are an adult. Most countries will allow it if both are over the age of 18.


What age typically do most tattoo artists allow Teens to get a tattoo with parental permission or viewing?

If you have parental permission you can get ot at 16. But alone, you can to be 18


Can a 17 year old in Missouri go on vaca with a 19 year old in another state?

They can if they have parental permission. Without parental permission, no, they cannot.


Where do you go to get married when you're under 18 with parental permission?

Most places allow a 16 year old or above to get married with parental permission.


What is the legal age to get married in Nebraska?

Without parental permission it is 18. With permission it is 16.


Is it legal in Pennsylvania to move out at the age of 16 with parental permission?

With your parents' permission you can move out.