Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2010-12-28 04:19:41

For the 2010 season, if either the Big 10 champion or PAC 10 champion is playing in the BCS National Championship Game and a non-BCS team qualifies for a BCS bowl, that team will play in the Rose Bowl.

The University of Oregon won the PAC 10 and would normally play in the Rose Bowl. But since they are playing in the National Championship Game, obviously, they can't play in the Rose Bowl. So TCU, a non-BCS team that qualified for a BCS bowl, was slotted to play in the Rose Bowl.


Your Answer

Related Questions

#5 Wisconsin vs. #5 Texas Christian (TCU) the score was TCU 21 Wisconsin 19

Texas Christian University ROSE BOWL WINNERS

TCU beat Wisconsin 21-19

For the 2011 Rose Bowl, the payout was $8.5 million for each team (Wisconsin, TCU).

TCU beat Wisconsin 21-19. It was a close game.

#5 Wisconsin vs. #3 Texas Christian( a.k.a. TCU).

The losers of the Rose Bowl get nothing but :(

it will be Wisconsin versus either tcu or Stanford, if i had to make a bet, i'd say Stanford

The TCU Horned Frogs beat the Wisconsin Badgers 21-19 on 1/1/11

The 2010 Fiesta Bowl pitts Boise State University against Texas Christian University (TCU). TCU is the home team.

TCU played in the Tostitos Fiesta bowl against Boise State. The final score was Boise 17 and TCU 10.

In 1982 the UCLA Bruins began playing their home games in the Rose Bowl.

first, each bowl game is assigned 2 different conferences that will have a representative in the bowl game. For example, the Rose Bowl is Big 10 #1 vs PAC-12 #1. That means that the first place team in the big 10 will play the first place team in the PAC-12. However, if the one of those teams is taken by the BCS Championship then an at-large may be selected for the rose bowl. For example, last year TCU got to the Rose Bowl becuase the 1st place team in the Pac-12 was in the BCS National Championship Game(Oregon). Wisconsin won the tiebreaker for the Big 10 so they got there to play TCU.

Clemson University won the 1959 Bluebonnet Bowl game over TCU.

It can get complicated: When either the champion of the Big Ten or the Pac 12 are playing for the national title (these conference champions prefer the Rose Bowl and are nearly assured a birth there), the Rose Bowl Committee selects a team to replace the potential national champion. Revenue, quality of potential match ups, travel time and expense all play a role in the Rose Bowl's Committee's decision. Usually, a team to be considered, it must be in the top 14 in the final rankings nationally. There are also loyalty considerations. The Rose Bowl Committee loves to remain loyal to the Pac 12 IF it is a Pac 12 school playing for the national title. In that case, there is a strong preference to replace the Pac 12 potential champion with another Pac 12 school. There is also this caveat - "The Big Ten chamption gets an automactic Bowl bid, PREFERENTIALLY the Rose Bowl. So go figure. It used to be automatic before the BCS.

Unfortunately, no one (who is a college football fan) can answer this unbiased. But I will give it a shot in my experience. All universities have that one group of fans that just doesn't represent the school well. So I'm not basing it off of them. The following answers reflect the majority of the fans, not just that one embarrassing group.Texas A&M - If you have gone to an Aggie game, or ever meet an Aggie fan/student you understand exactly what I'm saying. This cult-like atmosphere of pride can be intimidating, but it is nothing to be afraid of. However, it is uncomfortable to be around an Aggie fan all the time. They tend to either be A) Dumb or B) Overly and undeservingly aggressive in situations that don't call for it. They also try to make everything about Texas A&M and in their eyes (and this is from an Aggie mouth directly) "The world revolves around A&M".TCU - In my experience, some of the worst fans ever. TCU does not make an effort to encourage their fans to educate themselves before a game. TCU will go 12-0 in a season and the student fans will have no idea what that means or how they got there. They attend the university, go to games and support their team but, due to TCU's notoriously weak schedule (Mountain West Conference) they rank high and fall hard in a bowl game when they play someone that actually has talent.Here's TCU's bowl game results from the past 10 years. Let's see how your "unbiased opinion" of TCU and how they tend to "fall hard" in bowl games stacks up against the facts:2010 Rose Bowl: TCU 21 - Wisconsin 192009 Fiesta Bowl: Boise St. 17 - TCU 102008 Poinsettia Bowl: TCU 17 - Boise St. 162007 Texas Bowl: TCU 20 - Houston 132006 Poinsettia Bowl: TCU 37 - Northern Illinois 72005 Houston Bowl: TCU 27 - Iowa St. 242004 No Bowl2003 Fort Worth Bowl: Boise St. 34 - TCU 312002 Liberty Bowl: TCU 17 - Colorado St. 32001 Gallery Furniture Bowl: Texas A&M 28 - TCU 9

As of the 2008 Rose Bowl, the University of Hawaii has never played in a Rose Bowl game.

Rose Bowl Stadium, Pasadena, CA.

1914 rose bowl football

January 1, 1937 TCU 16 Marquette 6

Boise State won 17-10 against TCU

Bears won the Rose Bowl.

The Rose Bowl airs on ESPN at 5pm Eastern

The "Rose Bowl" is part of the "Tournament of Roses" parade and celebration, which has been going on for over a century in Pasadena, California.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.