Best Answer

The Lincoln administration regarded Delaware, Maryland, Kentucky, and Missouri as border states, critical because of their geographical positions and questionable in loyalty because of their strong ties to both South and North. Slavery existed in all 4 states, though its importance had diminished in Delaware and Maryland as their prewar economies became increasingly interwoven with the North's.

Delaware rejected an invitation to join the Confederacy early in 1861, and through the war remained loyal to the North, mobilizing its industries to provide supplies for the Union Army; despite some Southern sentiments, it never seriously threatened to leave the Union.

Marylanders were much more divided in their sympathies, being distinctly Southern in character and attached to the South by strong blood ties. They resented radical secessionists and abolitionists alike as the cause of hostilities, urging recognition of the Confederacy. The first blood was spilled during the Baltimore Riots in March 1861, and though the state contributed substantially to the war effort with men and materiel, the Federal government garrisoned troops in the state as a precautionary measure.

Believing Kentucky to be a buffer zone, Governor Beriah Magoffin refused the call for troops and formally declared the state's neutrality. But the attempt proved futile: both Union and Confederate recruiters operated in the state, with Kentuckians serving on both sides. When Confederate troops moved into western Kentucky Sept. 1861, and Brig. Gen. U.S. Grant occupied Paducah, the legislature officially endorsed the Union. Pro-South Magoffin established a provisional government at Russellville, ratified the Confederate Constitution, and Kentucky was admitted to the Confederacy in December. The state, like Missouri, suffered the tragedy of a war that pitted father against son, brother against brother.

Missouri attempted neutrality after delegates to a secession convention in February 1861 refused to secede, but Federal invasion in May pushed many Unionists into the Confederate camp. As in Kentucky, pro-Union and pro-Confederate governments were established, the latter run in exile by Governor Claiborne F. Jackson. Missouri became a Confederate state November, 1861. Its thriving prewar economy was devastated, its people terrorized by brutal guerrilla warfare.

The border states represented a serious dilemma for President Lincoln. Convinced they were the key to victory, he could not afford to alienate them with his emancipation policies, thus incurred the scorn of Radicals by failing to abolish border-state slavery until the 13th Amendment, passed in 1865. And in the Western border states Federal troops had to be kept from the front to hold the occupied territory from Confederate invaders. Soldiers also policed the polls to protect loyal Unionists during wartime elections. Though the border states remained pro-Union, even severely divided Kentucky and Missouri, the effort to nurture their loyalty in the face of bitter internal struggles weighed heavily on Lincoln's overall plan to win the war.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2016-06-05 20:18:46
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why were the Border States important in The Civil War?
Write your answer...
Related questions

How many border states were in the Civil War?

There were eight border states during the civil war.

During the civil war the most important of the border states was?


What are 5 border states?

What were 5 border states during the civil war

Why are the border states important to the union?

The Border States were a key part of the US Civil War. They were slave states that did not join the Confederacy, it was important for the Union to prevent that they did not secede and join the South.

How did the civil war affect those people who lived in the border states?

How did the Civil War affect thosse peop;e who lived in the Border States/

How many slaves were there in the border states during the Civil War?

There were 430,929 slaves in the Border States.

Which three Border States did not take sides during Civil War?

Border states during the Civil War were: Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri and West Virginia.

What were undecided states called in the civil war?

They were called border states

What was the capital of the border states during the civil war?

The border states were still in the Union and the capital of the US is Washington, DC. The American Civil war lasted from 1861 to 1865.

Name the border states?

Before the Civil War the Border States were Delaware, Maryland, Kentucky, and Missouri.

Which states are the border states?

The border states during the Civil War were Delaware, Maryland, West Virginia, Kentucky, and Missouri.

What were the three border states during the US Civil War?

The three border states during the US Civil War were Missouri, Kentucky and Maryland. The were slave states but did not join the Confederacy. Delaware also had slaves and was not "on the border" between the North and the South

What are the slave border states?

The border states were those states that bordered the states that seceded before the Civil War. The border states consisted of Kentucky, Delaware, Maryland, and Missouri.

Define border states?

During the Civil War, border states were slave states that had not succeeded from the Union. The four border states were Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, and Missouri.

Which states are the border states in the civil war?

Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland, Delaware

What states were the Border States in the civil war?

Kentucky, Maryland, Delaware, and Missouri

What States comprised the border states?

The border states during the Civil War were Delaware, Maryland, West Virginia, Kentucky, and Missouri.

How many states were in the union before the civil war?

During the civil war there were 24 states in the union including the border states. but there was 23 states that remained loyal to the union during the war.

What are the border states for the civil war?

Virginia, Tennessee, Arkansas .

Why do you think at the beginning of the Civil War Lincoln did not say that he was fighting to end slavery?

it was important to keep the border states in union

How come the Civil War had border states?

The Civil War had border states, because they were undecided who to help, the Confederacy, or the Union. So Instead, they helped neither for or against a nieghboring state. (They didn't want to get involved in the war).

What was the name for states who did not immediately choose sides in the civil war?

Not all of the US States had declared their loyalties before and after the US Civil War began. These States are referred to as the "Border States". Kentucky, as one example declared neutrality as one of the border States.

What border did not secede in the civil war?

Borders do not secede but states do. Kentucky, Maryland and Missouri were border states that did not secede in the union.

What were the border states that kept neutral during the civil war?

During the American Civil War there were five states which stayed neutral and were given the name "border" states. They were called border states because they each bordered a free state and were aligned with the union. The five border states were Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, and West Virginia.

What state were border states in the civil war?

Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland, and Delaware were the border states. They were slave-holding states that remained in the Union.