Why you have elections in mauritius?

There have been some form of elections in Mauritius since 1948. When Mauritius was a British Colony, its leader was called the British Governor, later known as the Governor-General of Mauritius; historically, as in most colonies, the British government and the King or Queen chose this person, who was often from England. But gradually, the citizens of Mauritius were able to gain more influence in choosing their own government. The first nation-wide elections occurred in August 1948, and demands for greater voting rights and autonomy grew from there.

By 1961, Mauritians were allowed to elect a Chief Minister (it should be noted that in the United States, a "minister" is a religious leader of a Christian congregation, but in British terminology, a minister also refers to someone holding a governmental position of leadership). In 1967, a constitution was approved; and in 1968, the country's first prime minister was chosen, as Mauritius became an independent state, and a Commonwealth realm. Its first Prime Minister was Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, a respected political figure who had been a leader in the fight for independence. Mauritius became an independent republic in 1992. It has a parliament, a president (largely a ceremonial figure) and a prime minister.