answersLogoWhite

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-08-11 02:14:50

Absolutely not.

Even in the BKs with the highest powered of lawyers...and Corporations....the last things done before filing BK is pay the sales and withholding taxes!

In most all states or taxing jurisdictions, (with California being one large notable exception), these are not taxes on "you", but money the business collects from others (customers or employees) on behalf of the State. They are trust funds....they not only won't ever be discharged....they carry direct, pierce any corporate shield, to the officers and involved parties, responsibility. Better take care of them one way or another ASAP. In the few places they may be legally considered the responsibility of the vendor, they may be discharged in the BK, (as situational as anything else), and would be a priorty claim and even allowed an extended bar date for filing a proof of claim.

123
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Does Chapter 7 Bankruptcy discharge past state income tax debt?

dont buy as many condoms, and you wont become bankrupt.


How long after filing a chapter 7 can you file a chapter 13 in Washington state?

Bankruptcy is a FEDERAL law handled in a FEDERAL court...your State makes no difference. Under the bankruptcy laws effective on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago. The above notes discharge dates.


Can you file chapter 13 bankruptcy after you have filed a chapter 7 in Kentucky?

Bankruptcy is Federal matter. Your State is of no consequence. Under the new bankruptcy law taking effect on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago.


How often can you file bankruptcy in Michigan?

Bankruptcy is a Federal court and legal action. Your State makes little difference (albeit some federal district courts use the laws common to the States in their jurisdiction for some things in their rulings). * Bankruptcy laws were reformed in 2005 making the time limit between chapter 7 filings 8 years from the time of discharge and the time for filing a chapter 13 after a chapter 7 discharge 4 years.


Can you file a chapter 13 bankruptcy after a chapter 7 bankruptcy in Missouri?

Bankruptcy is a federal procedure (a few states may have state bankruptcy laws), so the law is the same in every state, except for local forms and procedures). You can still file a "Chapter 20" (7+13).


How long do you have to wait to file chapter 13 bankruptcy in Louisiana after you filed chapter 7 bankruptcy in Arkansas a few years ago in?

Assuming the chapter 7 led to a discharge, you may be able to file chapter 13 immediately, but the automatic stay may not last long without a motion to extend it indefinitely. If the filing date of the 7 was 10 years ago, you should not have this problem. Not all bankruptcy courts have interpreted the statutes and regulations the same way, so consult a local bankruptcy lawyer. Bankruptcy is a federal procedure in most states, and is the same from state to state, more or loss.


When can file a chapter 7 again after the first discharge in the state of georgea?

Under the bankruptcy laws effective on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago. The above notes discharge dates. There are methods to convert an active Chap 13 to a 7.


How long after a chapter 7 bankruptcy can you file another chapter 7in the state of Tennessee?

Bankruptcy is Federal jurisdiction, therefore, the state has nothing to do with it. Usually, when you file bankruptcy, you cannot file for another 7 years, Period. No matter which state you live in.


Can you finance a car during filing of chapter 7 new york state?

Bankruptcy is a federal action in a federal court, whether in New York State or elsewhere. You cannot get a loan while in a Chapter 7. No creditor will lend to you until you have received your discharge.


When can you file bankruptcy for the 2nd time filed in 2002 or 2003 not sure?

Bankruptcy is ALWAYS a Federal case. Your State makes little difference.Under the new bankruptcy law effective on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago.


You filed chapter 7 in California 6 years ago how long do you have to wait to refile in WA state?

Bankruptcy is a Federal matter, your State makes no differece.Under the new bankruptcy law taking effect on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago.


How do you find the state of Michigan code for allowable exemptions in a chapter 7 bankruptcy?

http://bankruptcy-law.freeadvice.com/bankruptcy-law/michigan-bankruptcy-exemptions.htm


How long do you have to wait to file a Chapter 13 after being discharged from Chapter 7 in Kentucky?

Bankruptcy is Federal matter. Your State is of no consequence. Under the new bankruptcy law taking effect on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago.


How long after you file bankruptcy can you file again in Washington state?

8 years between discharge of bankruptcy to re-file.


In Colorado how often can you file bankruptcy?

Bankrutpcy is a Federal Court Actionand set of FEDERAL laws....your state makes little difference. Under the bankruptcy laws effective on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago.


How long after bankruptcy can you file chapter 7 and can you file chapter 13 after chapter 7?

You have to wait 2 years, in Tennessee anyway, between filings. = Ans == Bankruptcy is ALWAYS in a Federal Court and under Federal Laws. (Yes, some Federal Districts use the prevailing rules regarding some things in their area...like what may be personal property compared to real property, but the overall rules are universal). YOUR STATE GENERALLY MAKES NO DIFFERENCE. Bankruptcy laws were reformed in 2005 making the time limit between chapter 7 filings 8 years from the time of discharge and the time for filing a chapter 13 after a chapter 7 discharge 4 years.


What is the process for using bankruptcy chapter 13?

First, contact a lawyer in your state to make sure you qualify. The lawyer in your state will be able to walk you through the proper steps to file chapter 13 bankruptcy.


Can a lien on property be avoided in Chapter 7 bankruptcy if the invoice was discharge as nonsecure?

A petition to have the lien removed can be made to the court. The bankruptcy discharge will not automatically cancel it out. I am assuming "nonsecure" refers to the creditor who holds the lien (such as a credit card debt). This is not a factor in whether or not the lien will or can be dismissed. Refer to the statutes of the state of residency, governing such actions.


How long does chapter 13 bankruptcy stay on credit report in state of ND?

It does not matter what state you filed your Chapter 13 Bankruptcy, as it was done in Federal Court, and these types of events stay on your credit for 10 years.


Will you get your tax refund if you file for bankruptcy?

Whether you are entitled to your tax refund will depend on what type of Chapter of bankruptcy you are filing and whether the bankruptcy exemptions can be used to protect the tax refund. If you are filing for Chapter 7 bankruptcy then you can generally keep the refund if the available state bankruptcy exemptions provide protection for it. If you are in a Chapter 13 bankruptcy you are typically required to turn over the tax refunds during the life of the Chapter 13 case.


State of Utah Bankruptcy laws How long must I wait after I filed a chapter 7 to file a chapter 13?

Bankruptcy is handled in the Federal courts, in a district for your area. Some districts may use certain rules/definitions to help co-ordinate the process with local customs and laws, but the major things, like timing, are the same everyplace: Under the bankruptcy laws effective on October 17, 2005, Chapter 7 cannot be filed unless the debtor was discharged from the previous Chapter 7 or bankruptcy more than eight years ago. The debtor cannot file a Chapter 13 unless: (1) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 7, 11 or 12 more than four years ago; or (2) the debtor received a discharge under Chapter 13 more than two years ago.


Can your pension be garnished in chapter 7 bankruptcy?

The answer to this depends on what state you are in but typically pensions and ERISA benefits are on the list of exemptions from bankruptcy.


Who can file for bankruptcy in Wisconsin?

Anyone who is a resident of the state can file for bankruptcy in Wisconsin. There is no restriction on who can file, only for which chapter they can file in.


What does it cost in legal fees when filling chapter 7 bankruptcy?

The cost of filing fees in a Chapter 7 bankruptcy will vary with each state. On average, the filing fees are about $300.


If you file chapter 7 bankruptcy what happens with your state pension plan?

Uneffected.


Still have questions?