What are the 10 crainal nerves?

Updated: 4/28/2022
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Best Answer

The 12 Cranial Nerves in order from the most rostral to caudal are:

I. Olfactory - smell

II. Optic - vision

III. Oculomotor - moves eyeballs

IV. Trochlear - innervates an eye muscle

V. Trigeminal - sensory fibers for the face and motor fibers to muscles for chewing

VI. Abducens - controls muscle that turns eyeballs laterally

VII. Facial - facial expressions

VIII. Vestibulocochlear - hearing

IX. Glossopharyngeal - innervates tongue and throat

X. Vagus - extends from head to the abdomen

XI. Accessory - helps with function of the vagus

XII. Hypoglossal - innervates tongue muscles

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What are the 10 crainal nerves?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass