Results for: Ecbatana

What are persia's capitals?

Persia had three capitals during the Achaemenid Period: Persepolis, Susa, Ecbatana. Perisa's capital during the Seleucid and Parthian dynasties was Seleucia. Persia's capital during the Sassanid dynasty was Ctesiphon. After Islam the three cities which at some point was a… Full Answer

What is the significance of persepolis?

Though evidence of prehistoric settlement at Persepolis has been discovered, inscriptions indicate that construction of the city began under Darius I the Great(reigned 522--486 BC). As a member of a new branch of the royal house, Darius made Persepolis the… Full Answer

How large did the Persian empire become?

These are the provinces of the Empire mentioned by the historian Herodotus: 1. The Ionians, the Magnesians in Asia, the Aeolians, Carians, Lycians, Milyans, and Pamphylians contributed together a total sum of 400 talents of silver. 2. The Mysians, Lydians… Full Answer

When was icecream made?

History Precursors of ice cream An ice-cream store in, the, people would pour grape juice concentrate over snow - in a bowl - and eat this as a treat. In particular this was consumed when the… Full Answer