Results for: Nyasaland

What is the new name for Rhodesia?

The British colony known as the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland included Southern Rhodesia, Northern Rhodesia, and Nyasaland. Northern Rhodesia became Zambia and Nyasaland became Malawi after dissolution on December 31, 1963. Southern Rhodesia became Rhodesia in 1965 and then… Full Answer

What was Zambia and Malawi?

At one time in the 1950's and 60's, three countries, Southern Rhodesia, Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland made up the 'Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland'. Now they are the independent countries, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Malawi. Full Answer