World Heritage Sites

A World Heritage Site is a location whose continued existence needs to be protected because of its outstanding cultural or physical legacy for all humankind. The decision is made by 21 members elected by the General Assembly to the World Heritage Committee of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). Questions deal with the already recognized sites as well as with the possible candidates, which may include starlight reserves, mountains, monuments, lakes, forests, deserts, cities, and buildings.

Asked by Darien VonRueden in World Heritage Sites

What does UNESCO World Heritage stand for?

User Avatar
UNESCO stands for United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization. UNESCO works to help identify and protect important cultural and natural places all over the world by designating them UNESCO World Heritage sites. That designation means a site is "of outstanding universal value" and meets at least one of UNESCO's 10 criteria for determining its importance to humanity. The long list of World Heritage sites includes historical buildings like the Palace of Versailles as well as natural preserves like Yellowstone National Park.
Asked in Mayans, World Heritage Sites, Mexican Culture

What is the central pyramid at Chichén Itzá called?

User Avatar
The central pyramid at Chichén Itzá is the temple of Kukulkan, named for the Mayan feathered serpent deity and nicknamed El Castillo ("The Castle") in Spanish.
Asked in Italy, Landmarks and Monuments, World Heritage Sites

What three famous World Heritage Sites are in Modena Italy?

User Avatar
Unesco lists Cathedral, Torre Civica and Piazza Grande as World Heritage Sites in Modena.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.