Baseball
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Can a runner on 3B score on 2 outs if he crosses the plate before the shortstop throws out the batter at first base fielding ground ball?

121314

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2015-04-29 19:36:03
2015-04-29 19:36:03

No runs score on a play when a third out is made and that third out was a force out, period. A batter-runner being put out prior to touching first base is a force out. If there had been only one out with runners at first and third or first and second and third, putting the batter-runner out before he reaches first base ends the force on the other runners, and so if the defense next also got the runner going to second or to third, on a double-play, the runner from third crossing home before that third out would count, because the third out was not a force out.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions


If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.

No it is a hits batsmen. The batter gets first base and the ball is ruled dead. Everyone who is forced moves up one base.

Lets say there is a man on first base, and the batter gets an infield ground hit that is picked off by the shortstop. The shortstop throws the ball to the 2nd baseman who steps on 2nd base before the runner a at 1st can reach it. This is a force out as the 2nd baseman does not have to tag the incoming runner. If the shortstop caught the ball before the ball hit the ground and can throw the ball to the 1st baseman before the runner at 1st can get back and put his foot on the bag, then that would also would be a force out.

No, but he still must touch home plate. The runners and batter are not "automatically in"when an "out-of-the-park"home run is hit. The runs aren't scored until each crosses home.

Yes. On a tag play, if a runner crosses home plate before another runner is tagged for the third out the run counts.

A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.

If you mean that there are already two outs, then, no, the run does not count. Any time the batter is put out before reaching 1st base, it is considered a force out. Therefore, no run counts on a play where the batter makes the 3rd out before reaching 1st base.

Yes. If a runner crosses home plate before the third out is made (unless it's a force out), the run counts. For example, say the Yankees have runner on third with two outs. The batter hits a ball to the gap in right center. The runner scores, but the batter is thrown out at third trying to stretch a double into a triple. Since the runner on third crossed home plate before the batter was out at third, the run counts. On a force play (at any base) the runner would not be allowed to score even if he crosses the plate before the force is made.

A batter is a somewhat thin mixture of wet and dry ingredients. Examples of batter are cornbread batter, cake batter and batter made for breading meats before frying.

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.

A curveball is generally slower than a slider, and curves diagonally as it approaches the batter. The slider shifts suddenly horizontally, usually right before it crosses the plate.

The run doesn't count if the out at first is a force out, if the batter overruns first base and is tagged out in an attempt to get back to first then the run would count.

Tony Fernandez. Jeter took over at shortstop in the 1996 season. Fernandez started 103 games at shortstop in 1995, his only season with the team. Kevin Elster also played shortstop for the 1995 Yankees.

You should cream your cake batter before mixing because it makes the batter creamier and tastier for most people anyway!

Derek Jeter always played shortstop, and still continues to play shortstop for the Yankees. Alex Rodriguez was an accomplished shortstop before coming to the Yankees where he now plays third base

1- Teams can be a minimum of 6 players and a maximum of 15 players. 9 players are on the field for each team at any one time. 2- One team bats while the other team fields and bowls. 3-The bowler bowls the ball to the batter who hits the ball anywhere on the Rounders pitch. The batter then runs to as many posts as possible before the fielders return the ball to touch the post the batter is heading for. 4-If the batter reaches the 2nd or 3rd post in one hit, the batting team scores ยฝ Rounder. If the batter reaches 4th post in one hit, the batting team scores a Rounder. 5-A batter can be out if the fielding team catch the ball hit by the batter before it touches the ground or by touching the post the batter is heading to with the ball before the batter reaches it.

the proper batter. Let's say batter 2 is supposed to be up but batter 3 bats instead. If the defensive team calls attention to the fact before he finishes his at bat - the batter 2 will bat and resume the count batter 3 had Now suppose batter 3 got a single and the defensive team called it to the umpires attention then batter 2 would be declared out and batter 3 would then bat again as he is thescheduled hitter. If the defensive team did not catch the batting out of order infraction before the first pitch to the next batter -which is batter 4- then batter 4 would be the legal batter

If the third out is a force play or a fly out, a run can not score, no matter how soon a runner crosses home before that third out. If the batter hits the ball over the outfielder's head with runners on first and third, and the runner on first constantly slips and falls as he runs to second, the fact that the batter got to first and the runner on third got home several seconds before the runner going to second was forced out, is just too bad. It's still a force out, and no run scores.

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.

The only way that run would count is if it were not a continuous double play... For example, if the batter grounds into a routine double play, the run does not score... but if the batter were to fly out and another runner tries to tag up, and advance from 1st the second, or from 2nd to 3rd, and is thrown out in the process, as long as the runner for 3rd crosses home plate before the out is recorded, it counts. To simplify the answer a bit... If the double play occurs with both outs being recorded on force outs, no run scores. If there are multiple outs recorded, but are not force outs, the run scores as long as the runner crosses before the out is recorded.

Yes. MLB Rule 6.05(g) states that a batter is out when "His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder". If the fair ball touches the batter before it touches a fielder, the batter is called out.

a bunt is not a swing unless the plain of the plate is broken ... and or the batter dose not pull back the bat when the pitch is made ...Answer:I understand this question asking, "What happens if a batter squares to bunt but pulls back on the pitch?" --- if this is the situation, then when the batter pulls back the bunt the pitch would be called a ball or strike just like any other pitch. If he does not pull the bat back before the ball crosses the plate then it is a strike, much like a missed swing


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.