answersLogoWhite
Baseball
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Does a catcher interference call count against a batter as an offer or does it count like a walk as a no at bat or does it rather give the batter a hit?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 18:23:30
2015-07-15 18:23:30

I was listening to a Tribe (Indians) game the other day, and that very thing happened. Apparently they awarded the batter a hit (or that might have been called ball 4, I'm not entirely sure which, but I THINK it was a hit. It's definitely not a strike.

Rule 10:13(f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may advance

In a 'catcher interference' call, the batter is awarded first base, and it is not an official 'at-bat', thus not counting in the batter's total 'at-bats' for the game.

On "catcher interference", the batter is awarded first base, no official at-bat is charged (as it is notated in the box score as "'Joe Blow' awarded first base on catcher interference) and the catcher is charged an error.

Related Questions

User Avatar

ACCORDING TO THE CHILTON MANUAL YES. EDIT: According to the manuals and parts description, they say these are interference engines. The SOHC versions are not interference while the rarer DOHC versions are interference engines. Since they are not aware of what engine you are working on, they would rather be safe and tell you it is an interference engine. I would have destroyed at least two of these engines if they were interference. I have changed timing belts and been off a few teeth at first.

User Avatar

Yes, batters can be ejected while they are batting, usually by arguing about the strike the zone with the umpire. This usually only happens after the batter has struck out, rather then in the middle of the count, but if the batter argues too much, the umpire can toss him at any time.

User Avatar

Because he would rather be a ROCK than a sock... :)

User Avatar

Unless you are talking about professional baseball, yes the batter can decline to take the issued walk. Only in minor leagues such as competitive fastpitch softball can you reject this. However, it rarely happens because the batter sometimes would rather get the free base than ground out, pop out, or strike out!

User Avatar

A Baseball player hitting foul after foul is done more so to stay alive (not strike out) then to work the pitcher ... You have to keep in mind that the batter him self is using up energy to hit the ball foul ... The batter would rather get a hit then repetitively hitting the ball foul ...


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.