Baseball Rules and Regulations
Baseball

Does an error on a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

789

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2009-05-20 16:25:26
2009-05-20 16:25:26

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI

345
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


No, a sacrifice fly does not count as an official at-bat, in order to have an at-bat scored as a sac fly though a runner must advance home safely on your fly ball


According to MLB rule 10.01.a.1 only a sacrifice bunt or fly out does not count as an at-bat. A ground out counts a an at-bat


No. Neither a sacrifice fly nor a sacrifice bunt count as an official time at bat.


Yes an error counts as an at bat, but not a hit. You would be 0 for 1 on the play, but your on base percentage goes up because you have reached base safely. Errors can be committed on sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. If the official scorer rules a play a sacrifice bunt/fly and an error, the batter is not charged with a time at bat. On base percentage goes down when reaching base on an straight error.


No. A sacrifice fly does not count in batting average. It is as if the at bat never occured although you will get credit for any runs batted in that may have resulted from the sacrifice fly.


NO, JUST LIKE WALKS OR HIT-BY-PITCHES DON'T


Yes, a pop fly counts as an at bat.


Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


Sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies are not officially counted as "at bats".


yes, the batter is charged with an at bat on an infield fly


A sacrifice fly or when a batter flies out and a runner tags up and scores this doesnt count as an at bat


A sac fly does not count as an at bat. same with a sac bunt, hit by pitch and a walk


A sacrifice fly is scored as "no time at bat".


What two 2-word baseball terms share the same first name, but neither count as an official at-bat? sacrifice fly andsacrifice bunt


Yes. At bats are counted pretty much identically to baseball. Thing that would result in no at bat would be: walk, hit by pitch, sacrifice fly, sacrifice bunt.


No. As long as it still acted as a sacrifice fly, the at bat would could like a regular at bat. A sacrifice fly would mean that a runner would have to score as a result of the hit.


A sacrifice bunt or fly has never been considered an at-bat.


If you reach base on a sacrifice then you've either reached base by a legal hit (an AB) or an error. For example: 1. You are trying to advance your base runner to 2nd by way of bunting but when you bunt it ends up being a legitimate single. It's scored an a 1B and an at-bat. It counts as a PA and your OBP is 1 for 1 in this instance. 2. Reaching base on a sac fly (attempt) but the fielder drops the pop fly. So, in reality you reach base via a fielding error. It's no sacrifice rather R/E therefore goes against your BA and OBP - yes it's an at bat.


the bat and that's it unless u count the gliding squirrel


no it is not a sacrifice- just a regular at bat and fly out


Sacrifice. Either a sacrifice bunt or sacrifice fly. Neither counts as an at bat.


A batter is not charged with an at bat when he is credited with a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt. The main issue is the umpire's judgement: did the batter purposely sacrifice himself in order to move up the runner(s) with less than 2 outs? If so-- and if the runners did move up or score successfully-- he shall not be charged with an at bat. Baseball's accounting therefore does not penalize a batter if he sacrificed himself for the team's benefit. (An at bat with a fly or bunt out would lower the batter's batting average.) Source: Official Baseball Rules 10.08


As long as the sacrifice fly has been a part of the MLB rules the batter has not been charged with a time at bat. However, the rule has been discontinued and continued several times. MLB started the sacrifice fly rule in the 1908 season. It was discontinued in the 1931 season only to become a rule again in 1939. It was discontinued again in 1940 and restarted in 1954. So there was no sacrifice fly rule in MLB prior to 1908, between 1931-1938, and between 1940-1953.


A Sacrifice Fly is only credited when a baserunner scores on a fly ball out. In this case the batter is given an RBI (run batted in) and not charged with an at bat (you will be 0-0). Moving a runner from 1st to 2nd or from 2nd to 3rd with a fly ball out may be admirable, but is not counted as a Sacrifice Fly (you will be 0-1)



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.