If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.
Yes. No problem. However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.
If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.
Yes. He must tag the base.
NO, a runner does not have to go back and touch the base after every pitch
Actually there is no rule in the Major League Rules that the runner has to touch base after each pitch. He must after a foul ball or caught fly ball. Even though runners in almost all leagues do touch after each pitch including the major's it is not a rule in Official Rules: 7.00 The Runner that he must: (See related Link)
The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.
No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.
no, you can tag the runner to get him out or on a play where the runner is forced to run you can step on the base he is running to.
When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.
No. You can't even touch a base out of order. If you pass a runner (and touch the next base before he does) you are out.
No, the fielder does NOT have to touch the base before tagging a runner out. The fielder only touches the base on a forced play.
yes it is a hit, but they can still be out if a defender taps either the base or the runner before he can "get safe" on base. It's the same thing as if a runner hit a bunt, they can still get out until they actually touch the base.
yes, he trying to tell him/her goodjob or telling them what to do
Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.
Just touch the runner on base.
No they can not, and if a base runner does pass another base runner that base runner would be called out.
It depends. If the runner hit a home run, and missed third he would be sent back to second base. If the runner was on second base to start and missed third he would be out. However, even if the umpire sees a runner miss a base the runner is not penalized unless the opposing team appeals.
He does if he can get back and touch it in time before a fielder does. If the runner makes no attempt to return to the base and a fielder touches it and appeals, the runner is out.
When it is a home run that wins the game in the bottom half of the last inning. This is known as a walk-off home run. If the runner does not touch first base and the umpire sees this the runner is out.
To get someone out in softball the pitcher can strike them out. They can hit a pop-fly that is caught. The ball can beat the runner to first base by a defensive player tagging that base before the runner gets there. If the runner runs into a defensive player who is making the initial play on the ball, the runner is out. The runner could be tagged out before they touch the base.
The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.
If there are fewer than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, both the runner on third and the batter must touch their respective bases for the run to count.
The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.
a fielder must have the ball in their glove or hand and touch ( or tag) the base runner He could also get out if he were to leave a base early before the next batter has hit he ball :) Mo Fo
Asked By Wiki User
Asked By Wiki User
Asked By Wiki User