answersLogoWhite
notificationBell

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2013-11-17 06:17:44

Actually there is no rule in the Major League Rules that the runner has to touch base after each pitch. He must after a foul ball or caught fly ball. Even though runners in almost all leagues do touch after each pitch including the major's it is not a rule in Official Rules: 7.00 The Runner that he must:

(See related Link)

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions


NO, a runner does not have to go back and touch the base after every pitch


If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


yes the batter must touch the base or he will called out


Yes. No problem. However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.



If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.



No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base


When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.


No. You can't even touch a base out of order. If you pass a runner (and touch the next base before he does) you are out.


No, the fielder does NOT have to touch the base before tagging a runner out. The fielder only touches the base on a forced play.


yes it is a hit, but they can still be out if a defender taps either the base or the runner before he can "get safe" on base. It's the same thing as if a runner hit a bunt, they can still get out until they actually touch the base.


yes, he trying to tell him/her goodjob or telling them what to do


There are a few times a base runner may advance without fear of being put out. If the base runner is forced to the next base by a batter/runner being walked or hit by a pitch and for an illegal pitch being called on the pitcher.


Generally, only when there are no runners on base. However, you could also pitch from the windup when there is a runner only on third base, or on 2nd and 3rd, or when the bases are loaded. Pitching from the windup can be a problem with a runner on third because this will allow the runner to get a longer lead off the base than the lead the runner will get when the pitcher pitches from the stretch.


Just touch the runner on base.



No they can not, and if a base runner does pass another base runner that base runner would be called out.



It depends. If the runner hit a home run, and missed third he would be sent back to second base. If the runner was on second base to start and missed third he would be out. However, even if the umpire sees a runner miss a base the runner is not penalized unless the opposing team appeals.


Yes, as long as the runner got on base cleanly (ie: not on an error)


when theres a base runner on a base.. the batter hits the softball and trys to get to a base while the base runner at 3rd or 2nd run home and get a point


yes, on an illegal pitch the upmire will let you advance a base.


He does if he can get back and touch it in time before a fielder does. If the runner makes no attempt to return to the base and a fielder touches it and appeals, the runner is out.