How did Babe Ruth enter the Hall of Fame?

When the inaugural Hall of Fame ballots were counted in 1936, five players had received at least 75% of the votes cast - the standard set for election by the Baseball Writers' Association of America that still exists today. Those players were the first five men elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. The five players were, in order of votes: Ty Cobb, Babe Ruth, Honus Wagner, Christy Mathewson and Walter Johnson.