Baseball
Baseball History
Baseball Rules and Regulations

How does a pitcher earn a win in baseball?

272829

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-08-18 02:13:44
2010-08-18 02:13:44

TO UPDATE THE PERSON'S POST ABOVE: MLB Rules state that a condition for a "save" is that the pitcher is not eligible for a "win". As such, a relief pitcher entering the game prior to the 5th as a reliever would get credit for the win, with no save allocated. If a pitcher pitches 6 innings and leaves the mound with the lead to field another position, then returns in the 9th to close, he remains credited with the win (if his score holds) with no save allocated.

As for a team taking the lead with a pinch-hitter for a pitcher, the actual change of pitcher of record does not take effect until the next pitcher "takes the mound". Though the pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter, the performance of the team will affect his ability to win the game. In other words, if the pitcher leaves the game while his team is on offense with the lead, he can only earn a win or a no decision. If he leaves the game while his team is on offense with a tie or behind, he can win, lose, or have a no-decision, depending on what the score is when the next pitcher takes the mound.

123
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

If he has pitched at least 5 innings, he can qualify for the win.

User Avatar

Striking out all the batters works. Also not allowing more runs by your opposing team than your team gets is called a win.

User Avatar

If the relief pitcher enters the game with his team behind, but leaves with his team leading, then he is eligible for the win. If he does so, but does not close out the game, then the subsequent relievers must maintain the lead in order for the pitcher to be credited with the win.

User Avatar

The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. This could be the relief pitcher even though he gave up four runs, blowing the lead, if said relief pitcher was the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. The starting pitcher, even though he pitched well in this situation, cannot be credited the win.

User Avatar

tom burgess. He pitched for Phoenix College in 1965 and Arizona State in 1967. He was the winning pitcher for both National Championship Games. Only pitcher to ever win both titles.

User Avatar

because it helps them win and they earn more respect and it helps them get better

User Avatar

The pitcher of record is the pitcher who will gain the win or loss when the game ends.

User Avatar

The pitcher is the one who throws the baseball to the batter.

User Avatar

It depends, the pitcher must be in the game when his/ her team takes the lead. So, the pitcher could be put in an inning with 2 outs, throw one ball that ends up as a ground out or pop up and then the next half inning his/ her team takes the lead. in this case, this 1 pitch pitcher would get the win. The pitcher could also be take out of the game in the next inning but would still have the win

User Avatar

You have to win the game only using the same pitcher, and the opposition must NOT score at all

User Avatar

A starting pitcher needs to pitch at least 5 innings to get the win. Any subsequent pitcher can get the win even if he only retires one batter (or base runner). If the starting pitcher leaves with the lead but without pitching 5 innings, and his team maintains that lead, the official scorer can decide which pitcher to give the win to.

User Avatar

0. Example: Pitcher enters the game in the top of the 9th with his team behind by one run. There are two outs and a runner on first. The pitcher picks the runner off of first for the third out before throwing a pitch to the batter. His team scores two runs in the bottom of the 9th to win the game. The pitcher is credited with the win even though he threw 0 pitches.

User Avatar

If a pitcher comes in with the lead and does not surrender the lead to the opposing team, he earns a hold.

User Avatar

No, in baseball the pitcher does not follow the instructions of the catcher.

User Avatar

On ESPN's major league telecast on August 15, 2007, Bob Feller was being interviewed, regarding the death of Hall of Famer Phil Rizutto, and he stated that he, Bob Feller, was the youngest pitcher ever to win a game, and the youngest pitcher to lose a game, at age 17.

User Avatar

No pitcher has ever won a batting title.

User Avatar

yes, if he is the starting pitcher he has to go a minimum of 5 innings and his team has to be leading when he exits the game and never lose their lead and win the game. A pitcher can win in relief if he comes in when the game is tied or his team is losing, and his team rallies after he pitches and win the game, but they can't give up their lead after he pitches or he won't get the win someone else will get the win

User Avatar

One website that lets you earn points and win stuff on their website is Swagbucks. Slickdeals has several sweepstakes that you can enter to win gifts.

User Avatar

Greg Maddux was a Major League Baseball pitcher. He was the first major league pitcher to win the Cy Young Award four years in a row. He was nicknamed "Mad Dog" and "The Professor".

User Avatar

With no addtional information available, the winning pitcher is the relief pitcher who came in in the 4th inning. Remember, a starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings before he can be credited with a win.

User Avatar

they win ยฃ12.50 every game they win. and ยฃ20 for every tournament they win.

User Avatar

win, and go positive for that round... is that really how you earn xp ?

User Avatar

They earn 17,000 each game that's if you pro and win. If not pro or win its 100.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.