answersLogoWhite
Ask
Baseball
Baseball History
Baseball Rules and Regulations

How does a pitcher get a save?

535455
Answer

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 19:12:00
2015-07-15 19:12:00

Any relief pitcher can come in and pitch at least three innings EFFECTIVELY and get a save. Here is rule 10.20 from the MLB.com site on June 2nd.

Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions: (1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and (2) He is not the winning pitcher; and (3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions: (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.

1
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

A pitcher can get a save in baseball when his team is winning by three or less. It can be a 5 out svae or 3 out save. Sometimes there are other ways.

User Avatar

A home pitcher can't get a save opportunity since any lead would result in a walkoff victory. However a road pitcher can get a save opportunity by relieving another pitcher in the bottom of the inning when they have the lead.

User Avatar

A single out is enough to get a save. To get a save a pitcher has to record the game ending out, and has to have entered with a lead of 3 runs or fewer, or with the tying run at the plate or on deck. If a pitcher throws the game's final 3 innings he can get the save regardless of how big a lead his team had when he entered.

User Avatar

A save is credited to a pitcher who finishes a game with a certain number of saves or percentage of save opportunities. Mariano Rivera is the MLB's leader in one season's saves with 652.

User Avatar

Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed. If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.