answersLogoWhite

0

  • Baseball
  • Baseball Rules and Regulations
  • Geometry

How many possible ways can a baserunner advance a base or bases?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2015-07-15 19:19:42

Best Answer
Copy

Here goes nothing:

base hit (including home run, ground rule double) walk hit by pitch fielder's choice (includes all advancing on a ground out sac fly (includes all advancing on a fly out) sac bunt balk error, including ball thrown out of play steal (includes pick off attempt) passed ball wild pitch indifference (like a steal, but catcher does not try to throw him out) catcher's interference (batter hits catcher's glove, runner on first moves up) fielder's interference (according to the rule, the runner must already be advancing to that base) fielder throws equiment at a ball in an attempt to stop it (technically a triple, I believe) fan interference

2015-07-15 19:19:42
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

What is a forceout in baseball?

A baserunner may lose his right to occupy a base when a batter becomes a baserunner. The original baserunner could be thrown out when forced to advance, this becomes a force out. Example: Baserunner on first, batter hits a ground ball, the baserunner on first must try to advance, so the batter may try to advance to first, should a fielder field the ground ball and throw to another fielder at 2nd base, who then tags the base for the out, this is a force out of the runner who originally occupied first base.


What is a baserunner?

In the game of baseball, a baserunner is a player who is on base, ready to run to the next base.


Do other runners advance if a base runner hinders a fielder in fielding a batted ball?

no, it is an immediate dead ball and baserunner is out


What happens on a fly ball when the baserunner is not on a base in softball?

The baserunner is called out.


If a balk occurs with bases loaded does the hitter advance to first base?

No. If a balk occurs with the bases loaded all three runners advance one base, however, the batter does not advance to first base.


How can a base runner advance on a caught fly ball?

If a baserunner goes back and touches/or stands (this is called 'tagging up') on the base the they started on after the ball is caught he can then advance to the next base(s). If you do not go back and 'tag' the base after the ball is caught, the defensive team can throw the ball to the base you started on and you will be out


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


What happens if a baseball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory, the baserunner is out and the batter is awarded first base. If the baserunner is in foul territory and is hit by a batted ball it is just a foul ball. If a baserunner is hit by a thrown ball the ball is still in play, unless it is determined that the baserunner purposely moved into the path of the thrown ball, or is running out of the base path, then the baserunner is out for interference.


What is the ruling when a batted ball is deflected by pitcher and hits a baserunner?

A batted ball that hits a fielder is in play, regardless of whether or not it later hit a baserunner. If a batted ball hits a baserunner before touching a fielder, the runner is out, the batter is awarded a hit, and all other runners return to their previous base unless forced to advance.


What sport is the term back related to?

in baseball a base coach would yell 'BACK' to a baserunner if the pitcher made a pickoff move to the base from which the baserunner had taken a lead.


What is a base runner in softball?

after you hit the ball, you run to first base and you are a baserunner..


What is a diamond in baseball?

The "diamond" is really just a square that is rotated 45 degrees. The corners of the diamond are where the bases are. The sides of the diamond are the pathway between each base, where the baserunner runs from one base to the next. The combination of bases and pathways causes it to look like a diamond when seen from above.


Hit to right side go to third from second base?

I think this question is referring to hitting behind a baserunner to advance them? With a runner on second base if a hitter can hit the ball on the ground to the right side of the infield the runner on second base should be able to advance to third because the obvious play is to first for the out. Like a sacrifice, but not entirely, because there is a chance for a basehit.


What happens in softball when a fly ball is hit and the base runner is not on a base?

Baserunner is out. Can't leave base til ball is hit.


When should a baserunner may run to the next base without being dismissed?

There are a few times a base runner may advance without fear of being put out. If the base runner is forced to the next base by a batter/runner being walked or hit by a pitch and for an illegal pitch being called on the pitcher.


Who gets base when batter and fielder touch base at same time?

Tie always goes to the baserunner.


Is there a rule in little league that you have to steal bases?

No. You don't have to steal. But you do have to advance to the next base if a runner is about to occupy the base you just left from.


Define a stolen base in softball?

when a baserunner decides to sprint to the next base right after the pitcher releases the ball. It is a risk. But once the catcher catches the ball that was just pitched, the catcher can very quickly decide to throw the ball to the base and try to get the baserunner, or stealer, out.


If a fielder is in the basepath and the runner either runs into the fielder or is forced around the fielder is it interference on the fielder?

If a baserunner runs into a fielder who is in the base line, and who is not in the act of fielding a ball, the call would be OBSTRUCTION on the fielder. The baserunner would be awarded the base he was running to. The runner that has been obstructed will be awarded at least one base or as many bases that the umpire deems necessary to offset the obstruction. This is a judgment call for the umpire and cannot be protested.


Outfielder knocks ball out of play baserunner past second what base does he go to?

Third


If a second baseman moves a base is the runner safe?

The ump wouldn't call the baserunner out if the fielder kicked the base out from under him, no.


What do you call an out made when a baserunner forced to run to the next base can't reach the next base safely?

its called a forced out


What are 5 compound words that include the word base?

baseball, baseboard, baseline, baseman, baserunner


What does the umpire call if a player stops a ball with his hat?

All base runners advance 3 bases and the batter is not out.


Is it a base hit when you get thrown out at second base when a runner advances to home?

It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.