If a ball hits a piece of a broken bat in fair territory is it a dead ball live ball or an out?
It is a live ball. If the batter reaches first base safely, it is a hit. If the batter is thrown out a first, it's an out.
after the batter hits the ball and it's a fair ball it's not a dead ball. if the ball lands in foul territory, it's a foul ball. Read More
Yes the ball is dead, and no the runners cannot advance. Read More
If the ball itself is in foul territory, then the batter would not be out, because once the ball is foul it's considered a dead ball. Anybody can touch it. Read More
If in fair territory batter out...dead ball Type your answer here... Read More
No. Home plate is considered fair territory. Read More
For a batted fly ball that is dropped: If it was first touched in foul territory, it is a foul ball. If it was first touched in fair territory and falls to the ground NOT in out-of-play territory, it is a fair ball and is in play. If it was first touched in fair territory and falls to the ground in out-of-play territory, it is a dead ball and the batter and any runners will… Read More
No - the entire plate is in fair territory, so a batted ball that hits the plate is in play; however, if it goes foul after hitting the plate, it is a (foul) dead ball. Read More
Since the pitcher's plate, or rubber, is in fair territory, it is a fair ground ball. However, if the ball subsequently goes into foul territory inside 1st or 3rd base before being touched by a player or umpire and comes to rest in foul territory, or is touched while in foul territory, it is a foul ball. Read More
No. All of the bases are in fair territory and are considered fair when a batted ball hits them. Read More
Home plate is foul territory unless the ball rolls in front of the plate and stays fair. If the ball bounces off the plate and strikes the batter; it's a dead ball. Read More
In fastpitch softball if the batted ball hit the plate and stays fair is it a fair ball or a dead ball?
Home plate is in fair territory so the ball would be a fair ball. Read More
If when batting you hit the ball the ball hits home plate but stays fair is it a live ball or a dead ball?
It is a fair and live ball because home plate is in fair territory. Read More
Unless it is clearly broken, play until the ball is dead then inspect it. If it's found to be broken, replay the point. see http://www.usra.org/Rulebook.aspx "If there is any suspicion that a ball has broken during a rally, play shall continue until the end of the rally. The referee or any player may request the ball be examined. If the referee decides the ball is broken, the ball will be replaced and the rally replayed… Read More
If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?
A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball. Read More
A batted ball hits home plate then strikes the batter while still in the batters box and rolls into fair territory is this a fair ball?
No, ball is dead and is considered a foul ball. Read More
No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance. Read More
When a fields throws a ball to another and it goes into foul territory on play at first third or home?
Even is the ball goes into foul territory, it is still a live ball, and plays can still be made. However, the case is different when the ball goes into the stand or dead-ball territory, such as the dug out. In this case, the runners would advance two bases without risk of getting out. Read More
if the umpire is inside the base path, then it is a dead ball... no pitch --- if the umpire is outside the base paths then it is a live ball Read More
Softball Bases loaded 2 outs hitter lines a ball and hits the runner on 3rd while runner is still standing on 3rd in fair territory is he out or safe dead ball?
The runner is out he/she would have to be in foul territory and on the bag. Read More
That is a judgment decision to be made by the umpire. MLB Rule 6.5(H) states a batter is out when: "After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with… Read More
Cricket What if a bowler had gave a no ball and with it dead ball will it be a no ball or a dead ball?
dead ball. Read More
What is the call if a bunt spins back and hits the bat which has been dropped into the field of play?
As far as MLB goes, MLB rule 6.05(h) states: "A batter is out when after hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the… Read More
According to MLB rules, that would depend on the situation. MLB Rule 5.09(f) states that the ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when "A fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher. Rule 5.09(f) Comment: If a… Read More
It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it… Read More
Rule 6.05(h) A batter is out when -- (h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance... Read More
Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?
If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead. Read More
When a batter hits a fair ball and their bat strikes the ball in fair territory is the batter is out?
If the batter is still in the batters box, it is a foul ball, otherwise, the batter will be ruled out, and it is a dead ball with runners returning to their bases This is wrong, if the ball hits the bat a second time in fair territory the batter is out, standing in the batters box means nothing in this rule. see MLB rule 6.05 h Read More
What is the Amateur Softball Association rule in fast pitch when a batted ball hits the plate is it fair or dead?
Home plate is in fair territory. Read More
What is the call if the ball is hit unintentionally twice with one swing and it goes into fair territory?
If, in the judgment of the umpire, the action by the batter was intentional, the batter will be called out. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the action by the batter was unintentional, the ball is alive and in play. Rule 6.05(h) states: "After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops… Read More
If a line drive ball off the bat hits the runner on third base and flies in the air is the batter out when the third baseman catches the fly ball?
No. Once a batted ball strikes a baserunner the ruling is a dead ball. In this instance, if the runner is in fair territory, they player struck by the ball is out, and the batter is credited with a single --- if the runner is in foul territory and struck this is a foul ball. Same would apply with hitting the batting coach Read More
When the ball is thrown and it hits the ground it's dead. Or if the runner loses the ball after his knee is down the ball is dead. And in cases where flags are thrown the ball and the play is dead. Read More
If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)] Read More
I guess it is called dead ball when the ball touches the ground. Read More
According to MLB rule 7.08(f) "A runner is out when ... He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance." Since the ball is dead the instant it touches the runner, where it goes afterwards is irrelevant. Read More
If the base runner gets hit with the grounded ball do the remaining base runners remain where they are?
The base runner is out that got hit with the ball as long as he is in fair territory. At this point the ball is considered dead and the runners would go to the base they should be at. Example: Runners at 1st and 2nd. Guy on 2nd running toward 3rd after ball is hit, he is hit. He is out. Runner at 1st is awarded 2nd, batter is awarded 1st and the ball is… Read More
The process in which dead organisms are broken down is decomposition Read More
It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner. Read More
No, the ball is not dead. Read More
It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base… Read More
A dead ball foul is a term in which the ball has not been inbounded, the clock is stopped, thus a "dead ball," and a foul has been commited. Read More
What happens to base runners when a defensive player catches a ball in foul territory and his momentum carries him to out of bounds?
If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. Read More
A ball is considered dead when it goes out of bounds or is fumbled. Read More
No, the ball is not dead and the batter may attempt to hit it. Read More
In Major League Baseball, according to Rule 6.08 (d,) the ball is in play as long as it's in fair territory and it touches a field umpire after it goes by any of the other Infielders except for the Pitcher that was currently on the mound. Read More
piece of cloth used to wrap a dead body Read More
The ball is dead right after it hits the bird Read More
Dead ball refers to any period of the game when the clock is not running. Read More
No it's live ball,but if the batter is hit by a pitch it's a dead ball. Read More
If you swing and miss and the ball hits you, it is a strike and a live ball. If you swing and the bat makes contact with the ball and the ball hits you while you're in the batter's box, it is a foul ball and a dead ball. Read More