If a baseball pitcher were equally talented pitching left or right handed can he switch in the middle of an at bat?
pitchers may not switch throwing hands in the middle of an at bat. they may switch from hitter to hitter however There is nothing I have found in the MLB rules that states a pitcher cannot switch throwing hands when facing a single batter. Maybe someone can point out the specific rule that states what the above answerer says is factual? There is no rule in the official baseball scores that say a pitcher cannot change his hands. However, just as a batter cannot switch while the pitcher is on the rubber, so too can the pitcher not switch while on the rubber, as that would be an illegal motion while in the set position and be considered a balk (with runners on) or a ball (with bases empty).
Because like a battery they are the ones that make everything go. Every play in baseball starts with the pitcher (pitching the ball) and the catcher (giving signs and directing the defense) -- If you dont have the pitcher and catcher, you cant play baseball.. kind of like if a car doesnt have a battery it cant go anywhere
Much like baseball pitching, softball pitching is used to throw a ball towards the batter. In baseball they throw overhand but in softball when your pitching you wind up, load, and throw underhand. There are more pitches possible in the softball pitching than baseball. All pitched possible to be thrown by a softball pitcher are screw ball, change-up, fastball, curve ball, rise ball, drop ball, and knuckle ball.
In Softball, the ball is bigger, but less dense. The pitching rubber is 43 feet away from Home Plate. The bats used in Softball are smaller. The bases are 60 feet apart from each other. You cannot take a lead before the ball is released by the pitcher. The infield consists only of dirt. The Corners play up by the pitcher. Softball consists of running slaps from the left side. The fence is 200 feet…
Mike Maddux has: Played Himself - Boston Red Sox Pitcher in "Sunday Night Baseball" in 1990. Played Himself - Milwaukee Brewers Pitching Coach in "Sunday Night Baseball" in 1990. Played Himself - Houston Astros Pitcher in "Sunday Night Baseball" in 1990. Played Himself - New York Mets Pitcher in "Sunday Night Baseball" in 1990. Played Himself - San Diego Padres Pitcher in "Sunday Night Baseball" in 1990.
Can a relief pitcher in major league baseball come in and throw just one pitch or does he have to pitch completely to one batter?
A pitcher who enters the game must pitch at least one full at bat. The only exception to this is if the pitcher suffers an injury during warmups or while pitching to the first batter that the umpires deem serious enough to warrant medical attention. Then the pitcher may be replaced before pitching one full at bat.
There is nothing I have found in the MLB rules that would prohibit a pitcher from a pitching motion similar to that of a softball pitcher. Actually, the underhanded motion was the rule when Alexander Cartwright came up with the rules of baseball in 1845. I have included a link, named 'MLB Rule 8', to the MLB rules concerning the pitcher on this page.
The main difference between pitching in the American League and the National League is that in the American League, the Pitcher has to pitch to all nine batters. In the National League, the Pitcher has to pitch to nine batters as well but the batter in the ninth spot is the opposing Pitcher and Pitchers aren't typically very skilled at batting.