answersLogoWhite

0


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2015-07-16 18:06:08

No, the runner would not be out. The fielder would have had to have tagged the runner with the ball itself or with the ball was in the glove in order for the runner to be out.

For more clarification:

"A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove"

This is directly from the Major League rules. Tagging is not just tagging a runner off base. Tagging can also be throwing a runner out as per Major League rules.

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp

Read rule 7.08

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


Is a runner out if the fielder has the ball and his other hand in his glove when he tags the runner?

So long as the fielder has full possession of the ball the runner is considered out whether the ball is in the glove, in the bare hand, or in the glove covered with the bare hand.


What is the baseball tag up rule?

The runner must remain on the base until the ball is in the fielders glove. Once the fielder has the ball securely(in the glove and the glove closed), the runner can advance to the next base. The fielder can throw you out at the base.Actually the runner may leave the base once the ball is touched by a fielder.


When a player steals and the fielder tags runner and his glove falls off and ball stays in glove is he safe or out?

The runner would be safe. This is the same as if the ball were dislodged and falls out of the glove.


During a force out at second base if the fielder does not transfer the ball to the covering defender but merely holds onto the ball in the other fielders glove is the runner out?

if the umpire thinks the fielder with the glove "has control of" the ball, then runner is out. i can't imagine this happening.


Is the runner out if the fielder touches him with his body and not the ball?

No, he must be tagged with the ball, either while still in the glove or with the ball. He can't just be touched with the glove without the ball in it either.


Is a runner out if a fielder has the ball in his hand and touches the base with his glove?

If the play at the base is a force out, yes. MLB rules state that a player must have complete control of the ball with the glove or bare hand for an out to be recorded. Control of the ball with the hand or glove and contract with the base is what is needed to make a force out. The rule is different, however, if the play is a tag play instead of a force out. In that case, if the fielder had the ball in his hand and tagged the runner with the glove, the runner would be safe. On tag plays the runner must be tagged with the ball or with the glove that is securely holding the ball.


What is the penalty for a fielder throwing his glove at a batted or thrown ball?

MLB Rule 7.05(c) rules about throwing a glove at a fair ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril ". MLB Rule 7.05(e) rules about throwing a glove at a thrown ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Two bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play; "


On a force play can a fielder touch the base with his glove while holding the ball in his other hand to get the runner out?

Yes, if it is a force out, as long as the fielder has the ball in his possession (glove or free hand) if he touches the bag before the runner with any part of his body then the runner would be called out. Now if this was a play that required a tag, and the ball was in his bare hand and the tag is made with the glove, or visa-versa, then the runner is safe


Is a runner out if the fielder throws his glove with the ball in it to first base?

Yes, but if I were you, I wouldn't try it. Though you can if you want.


Is the runner out if the fielder has the ball in the glove and touches the base with his hand on a force?

Yes, the runner would be out because of the force play meaning that the runner has to go no matter what.


Is the runner out if the runner and fielder incidentally collide?

if the fielder is a) in the baseline, and b) doesn't have the ball, then no. If the runner goes out of the baseline to strike the fielder, he is out for leaving the baseline. If the fielder has the ball, and as a result of the collision he tags the runner, then runner is out. If the fielder has the ball and is trying to tag the runner, but the collision knocks the ball loose, then the runner is out if the umpire felt the contact was intentional, but it is a loose/live ball if the contact was accidental or otherwise part of the game.


Is the runner safe when the fielder knocks down the ball when it is hit to first base and while he is on the ground with the ball in his left hand the player touches first base with his glove only?

I assume the question means the fielder is on the ground (floor?)..in either case, the fielder legally tagged the base while holding the ball firmly and the batter is out. See definition of "tag" in baseball rules. It is the same as the firstbaseman touching (tagging) first with his foot while the ball is in his glove. This would not be true if the runner is not forced, in which case the fielder must tag the runner with the ball held firmly in his hand or glove.


Is it an out if the glove with the ball touches a base and then pops out of the glove?

This would probably be the judgment of the umpire. If he felt the ball was under control as the fielder touched the base, the runner would be out. If he felt that the ball was not fully under control and hitting the base caused the ball to come out of the glove, the runner would be safe.


Can a first baseman force out a runner by touching first base with his non glove hand while he has the ball in his glove?

Yes. For a force play, a fielder who is holding the ball can get the out by touching the base with any part of his or her body. Usually the fielder uses his or her foot, but it can also be a hand or glove, whether or not the ball is in that hand.


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove hand?

MLB Rule 2.00 states:A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or gloveThus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."Rule 7.08(e) states:Any runner is out when --...(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.


What if a fielder catches a ball but loses his glove and the ball stays in the glove?

If the glove or mitt falls off in the process of catching the ball, it is not a legal catch. The fielder must have control of the ball in the glove and then remove it himself.


Does the fielder or runner have the right of way?

on a batted ball the fielder has the right of way if the fielder is in the basepath and the ball isn't near him the runner has the right of way


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.


If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


If you are a catcher and you have the ball in your bare hand and tag the runner with your gloved hand is it an out?

No, the ball must be in the glove in order to record a tag out with the glove hand. If the ball is in your throwing hand, you must make the tag with that hand.MLB Rule 2.00 makes this clear:A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.


When fielding a batted ball the fielder must yield to an advancing runner?

No, it's the other way around. The fielder has the right of way on a batted ball, and the runner must yield to the fielder.


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.