answersLogoWhite
Baseball
Baseball History
Baseball Rules and Regulations

If a pinch hitter leads off an inning and the batting order comes around to that spot again can the pinch hitter bat again?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-16 19:23:56
2015-07-16 19:23:56

Yes, he's part of the batting order for that inning as designated by his manager.

Yes, the "pinch hitter" would be at bat for the second time in the inning but he would no longer be considered a "pinch hitter." My question is: What is he now considered?

My guess is that he would be considered as taking the position of whatever player he pinch hit for. If he bats for the shortstop, and then comes around to bat again in the same inning, in his second at bat, he would be officially in the game at shortstop.

Related Questions

User Avatar

No, the designated hitter hits for the whole game unless he is replaced by another player. You may be getting the rule mixed up with the National League. If a pitcher has completed an inning and the manager feels he has done his duty on the mound, he will call in a pinch-hitter for the pitcher (if he comes to bat before they go back out on the field). That hitter will only hit for that one time, then the next pitcher will take his place in the lineup. If they happen to bat around that inning, the pinch hitter will bat again.

User Avatar

Going into the final game of the 1998 season, Williams and Mo Vaughn of the Boston Red Sox were tied for the batting title with a .336 average. Bernie started the final game and went 2 for 2 with a sacrifice fly before leaving for a pinch hitter with two outs in the bottom of the 6th inning. His average raised to .339. Vaughn also started the final game and went 2 for 4 before leaving for a defensive replacement in the 8th inning. He wound up with a .337 average. As it turned out, Williams batting order position did not come up again after the 6th inning as the Yanks went down in order in the 7th and 8th.

User Avatar

Yes. If the batter hasn't been struck out or advanced in anyway, the same batter gets to come back to bat at the beginning of the next batting cycle.

User Avatar

We are like Goldfish, we swim around the bowl and notice a castle, we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle, we swim around again and we go OH! a castle. Catch my Drift?


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.