If a pitched ball hits the ground first then strikes a player is the call a ball or a walk?

it is a hit by pitch (or a walk).

Clarification:

The answer above makes it seem a HBP and a Walk are the same -- they are not.. they are scored different and effect stats different. If the umpire calls it ball 4 and says it never hit the batter the ball is still in play and the batter gets a Walk -- If the umpire determines the ball hit the batter, the batter gets a HBP (hit-By Pitch) and it is a dead ball --- runners advance their one base but cannot advance further

In your question -- even though the ball hit the dirt, once it strikes the batter (assuming the batter never swung), this is a Hit-By-Pitch