No, and this is, as good an explanation as I can give to that question. If a receiver catches the ball in the front corner of the endzone closest to the field, with both of his feet in bounds but the ball is out of bounds and never went through the endzone as far as the pylon is concerned, it is still a touchdown due to his feet being inside the endzone.
Yes. This came up in one of the Steelers' games last year. The receiver's feet were inside the end zone when he caught the ball, but his arms were extended out into the field of play to make the catch. There was some controversy about whether he ever pulled the ball across the plane of the goal line. If he hadn't, the touchdown wouldn't have counted.
It doesn't matter where the player's body is. It only matters where the ball is. The ball has to break the plane of the goal line, regardless of where the player is standing on the field.
it is not a touchdown because the ball never broke the plane.
The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.
Catches the ball thrown from the quarterback.
Reception or a catch.
The energy from his feet and when he release it the index finder is the last finger to get off the football. ( He release the ball as fast as he can.) The receiver catchesit and its a touchdown.Drew release the ball at 6 degree angle and the ball travels at 54 MPH!
Any part of the ball must cross the goal line. Once any part of the ball has "broken the plane" it is a touchdown. The "whole" ball does not need to cross the line. If the ball is touching the white line, but no part of it passes the white line it is NOT a touchdown.
Yes in order for it to be ruled a touchdown the ball must cross the plain of the goal in order for it to be ruled a touchdown
No. The NFL's definition of a touchdown is: Touchdown:When any part of the ball, legally in possession of a player inbounds, breaks the plane of the opponent's goal line, provided it is not a touchback.
For the passer, it's called a completion. For the receiver, it's called a reception.
A pass completion.
no , the tip of the ball must clearly cross the plane.
The team that has the ball has to cross the touchdown plain (white line) and still have possession.
a wide receiver or a running back
The football need only "break the plane of the goal line". If any part of the ball crosses the goalline, it's a touchdown. The entire ball does not have to cross.
If the pass is ruled a catch then a fumble..the receiver receives the yards from the pass...and is credited with a fumble
Any one on the field can catch the ball really. It's primarily the wide receiver or the tight end.
Yes. According to the (new) NFL rules a receiver must maintain possession of the ball all the way to the ground.
In football, the wide receiver catches the ball, thrown by the quarterback and then runs toward the end zone in an attempt to score a touchdown or at least get a first down. If, however, the coach signals for a running play-which shows that the running back will be handed the football-the wide recievers will block the defender/s in front of him from trying to tackle the running back. That is what a wide receiver does.
Yes, it is touchdown. He can just say, "I dropped the ball because I thought had already scored. I wanted to celebrate."
Yes it is a complete pass
It's a touchback or the other teams point
No, the ball does not have to cross the goal line in the FOP to score a touchdown. The GL extends outside of the pylons and in theory, go around the world. If the ball breaks the plane of the GL extended, it is necessary in the NFL to have any part of the ball carrier's body cross over the pylon or inside the pylon, even though the ball crosses outside of the pylon.