answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

No, and this is, as good an explanation as I can give to that question. If a receiver catches the ball in the front corner of the endzone closest to the field, with both of his feet in bounds but the ball is out of bounds and never went through the endzone as far as the pylon is concerned, it is still a touchdown due to his feet being inside the endzone.

Yes. This came up in one of the Steelers' games last year. The receiver's feet were inside the end zone when he caught the ball, but his arms were extended out into the field of play to make the catch. There was some controversy about whether he ever pulled the ball across the plane of the goal line. If he hadn't, the touchdown wouldn't have counted.

It doesn't matter where the player's body is. It only matters where the ball is. The ball has to break the plane of the goal line, regardless of where the player is standing on the field.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-16 17:37:22
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

More Answers

User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
โˆ™ 2020-10-13 13:41:19

That was not my question.

User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: If a receiver catches the ball in the end zone does the ball have to cross the goal line to be a touchdown?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

If a receiver catches a ball in the middle of the field and his feet are in the end zone but the ball never crosses the plane of the goal line is this a touchdown?

it is not a touchdown because the ball never broke the plane.


If a player catches the football while his feet are inside the goal line but the ball is not is it a touchdown?

The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.


What does a receiver do?

Catches the ball thrown from the quarterback.


When the receiver catches the ball the pass is a?

Reception or a catch.


If the quarterback throws the ball to the receiver will that be a touchdown?

Yes Yes


How does Drew Brees throw a ball?

The energy from his feet and when he release it the index finder is the last finger to get off the football. ( He release the ball as fast as he can.) The receiver catchesit and its a touchdown.Drew release the ball at 6 degree angle and the ball travels at 54 MPH!


Does the ball have to cross the entire goal line or just touch it to be a touchdown?

Any part of the ball must cross the goal line. Once any part of the ball has "broken the plane" it is a touchdown. The "whole" ball does not need to cross the line. If the ball is touching the white line, but no part of it passes the white line it is NOT a touchdown.


Does football have to cross goal?

Yes in order for it to be ruled a touchdown the ball must cross the plain of the goal in order for it to be ruled a touchdown


In the NFL if a receiver is standing with his feet in the endzone and catches a ball while leaning forward so that the ball never breaks the plane is that a TD. Remember his feet are in the end zone?

No. The NFL's definition of a touchdown is: Touchdown:When any part of the ball, legally in possession of a player inbounds, breaks the plane of the opponent's goal line, provided it is not a touchback.


When the receiver catches the ball the pass is call what?

For the passer, it's called a completion. For the receiver, it's called a reception.


Which Cowboys receiver was famous for dunking the ball basket-ball style into the goalposts after a touchdown?

Alvin Harper


When the quarterback throws the football and his receiver catches the ball this is called?

A pass completion.


If the football does not cross the plain is it a touchdown?

no , the tip of the ball must clearly cross the plane.


What has to happen for a play to be a touchdown?

The team that has the ball has to cross the touchdown plain (white line) and still have possession.


What position is it when the quarterback passes you the ball and you run it to make a touchdown?

a wide receiver or a running back


Does the football have to cross the plane of the goal line to be a touchdown?

The football need only "break the plane of the goal line". If any part of the ball crosses the goalline, it's a touchdown. The entire ball does not have to cross.


Are stats upheld if a receiver catches a ball then fumbles?

If the pass is ruled a catch then a fumble..the receiver receives the yards from the pass...and is credited with a fumble


Who catches the ball in football?

Any one on the field can catch the ball really. It's primarily the wide receiver or the tight end.


Is it incomplete if a receiver catches the ball in the air and loses possession when he lands on the ground?

Yes. According to the (new) NFL rules a receiver must maintain possession of the ball all the way to the ground.


Is it a catch when the receiver catches the ball gets 2 feet in has possession then hits ground out of bounds and drops ball NFL football?

Answer Yes.


What does a wide receiver do?

In football, the wide receiver catches the ball, thrown by the quarterback and then runs toward the end zone in an attempt to score a touchdown or at least get a first down. If, however, the coach signals for a running play-which shows that the running back will be handed the football-the wide recievers will block the defender/s in front of him from trying to tackle the running back. That is what a wide receiver does.


If a player in the NFL catches the football with two feet in bounds and in the end zone and has control and hits the ground and the ball then comes out is it still a touchdown?

Yes, it is touchdown. He can just say, "I dropped the ball because I thought had already scored. I wanted to celebrate."


Was this always true When a receiver catches a ball with one knee down is it a complete pass?

Yes it is a complete pass


What happens when a receiver catches a ball in the opposing teams end zone?

It's a touchback or the other teams point


Does the football have to cross the goaline in the field of play to be a touchdown?

No, the ball does not have to cross the goal line in the FOP to score a touchdown. The GL extends outside of the pylons and in theory, go around the world. If the ball breaks the plane of the GL extended, it is necessary in the NFL to have any part of the ball carrier's body cross over the pylon or inside the pylon, even though the ball crosses outside of the pylon.