answersLogoWhite
Baseball
Baseball Rules and Regulations
Barry Bonds

If a relief pitcher gives up a tying unearned run is he charged with a blown save?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 19:22:03
2015-07-15 19:22:03

I don't think it's a save situation if a pitcher comes in with runners on...

But even if it is, then it is indeed a blown save. He gave up the run even if it is unearned. He was expected to close the game out / earn a save and he blew it.

Yes he is. His ERA wouldn't be affected, but if he gives up the tying run under any circumstances, he is charged with a blown save.

Related Questions

User Avatar

No, not unless the relief pitcher relinquishes his teams lead. Relief pitchers often enter games with runners on base. On occasion, some of those runners score. Those inherited runners scoring are charged to the prior pitcher(s) who allowed them to get on base. If the reliever holds the lead, even if some runners score, the reliever gets a save if he finishes the game. Oddly, a reliever can enter the game with a lead, with inherited runners on base, relinquish the lead (the other team ties the game or takes a lead), get a blown save and then win the game. If he relinquishes the lead and then in the other half of the inning or the next inning his team regains the lead or wins and he is the pitcher of record, he gets both a blown save and a victory. Rewarding ineptitude......

User Avatar

Brad Lidge 8 blown saves so far 22-30, unbelievable since he went 41-41 last year

User Avatar

The term "blown engine" usaully means the the engine is dead in which case you would not have any power. In the racing world the term "blown engine" could mean something else. A blown engine would be an engine that is super charged with a blower in which case you would have more power.

User Avatar

only go to hoods in autosculpt, search for blown over, charged or contender

User Avatar

No, by definition that is not possible. Should a pitcher stay in the game after blowing a save and the team retakes the lead, the pitcher would be in line to get a win and not a save.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.