A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession. To answer this question, the first baseman would have to transfer the ball to his hand or glove before the runner reached first base in order for it to be considered an out.
im pretty sure that as long as he put it in his hand or glove it would be an out no matter if the runner made it to the base or not
It would be an out if he were wearing his glove on his foot
This is an interesting question. I am not sure of the situation, however, you would think that if the ball is caught firmly with the feet it should be ruled an out if the act of catching it was intentional (i.e a man with no arms playing Baseball) -- I just bring this up.. because nobody thought Jim Abbott could play ball with only 1 hand, but he did.. so i am assuming a person who uses there feet for everything else could teach themselves how to play baseball --- far fetched, but just a thought, how how the ruling would really be made
in softball, a first baseman has to: -cover their base when a ball is hit to the infield and prepare for the throw -charge when the batter squares to bunt -be able to catch a ball that is coming at them really fast either from the third baseman, shortstop, or second baseman -be able to get to their base really quickly in case you are getting ready to catch a throw from the catcher if they are trying to pick off the person at first base -be able to catch wild throws anywhere within 5 square feet of the base this is what a first baseman has to do in order to be a good softball player. :D
No, the only thing that matters is where the ball is, if the ball is outside the box and he catches it, but his feet are inside the box, it is still hand ball.
Yes. In reverse, if his feet are outside the penalty area and he touches it with his hands inside it is not deliberate handling.
Yes. If the official scorer deems that an out would have been made had another fielder not made an error after the player who would have gotten the assist played the ball, the assist is given. If the first baseman drops a throw from an infielder that would have made an out on a ground ball, the infielder is given an assist and the first baseman is given an error. If the catcher throws a perfect strike to second base to catch a runner stealing and the second baseman drops the ball allowing the runner to be safe when he would have been out by five feet, the catcher is given an assist and the second baseman is given an error.
it is not a touchdown because the ball never broke the plane.
The ball which you drop from 5 feet will reach the ground first.
That would depends on where they field the ball. Howeverthe distance from the 3rd base bag and the 1st base bag is just under 85 feet.
Once the ball is past first or third base, the ONLY consideration is where the BALL is located -- fair or foul -- when it FIRST comes in contact with either the ground or a player. If the player is almost entirely in fair territory when he first grabs the ball, but the glove that touches the ball is in foul territory, then it's a foul ball. "If the ball touches a fielder in-flight, the judgment is made at where the ball was when it was touched, NOT from where it may land after a miss, or drop of the ball, by a fielder. The position of the fielder is irrelevant."
The energy from his feet and when he release it the index finder is the last finger to get off the football. ( He release the ball as fast as he can.) The receiver catchesit and its a touchdown.Drew release the ball at 6 degree angle and the ball travels at 54 MPH!
There is no such rule Official baseball rule book section 4.03: When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory. However the N.A.P.B.L. Umpires Manual also states: Do not insist on the first baseman playing with both feet in fair territory unless the offensive team protest. Then enforce it equally for both teams.
The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.
the catches it with their feet and jaws
No. The NFL's definition of a touchdown is: Touchdown:When any part of the ball, legally in possession of a player inbounds, breaks the plane of the opponent's goal line, provided it is not a touchback.
If the player holds on to the ball and it is determined that it did not touch the ground, it is an out. If the player drops the ball while falling over the fence, it is a home run. Added: To get more technical, I think as long as the fielder has his feet inside the area of the field of play, it would be an out. If the entire body (including feet) are over the fence when the catch is made, then it would be a home run. The above answer is wrong. If a fielder leaps and catches the ball before he touches dead ball territory the catch is good and the batter is out. It doesn't matter where he is in relation to the fence. He could be ten feet into dead ball territory and as long as he hasn't touched the ground, the catch is valid.
No, and this is, as good an explanation as I can give to that question. If a receiver catches the ball in the front corner of the endzone closest to the field, with both of his feet in bounds but the ball is out of bounds and never went through the endzone as far as the pylon is concerned, it is still a touchdown due to his feet being inside the endzone. Yes. This came up in one of the Steelers' games last year. The receiver's feet were inside the end zone when he caught the ball, but his arms were extended out into the field of play to make the catch. There was some controversy about whether he ever pulled the ball across the plane of the goal line. If he hadn't, the touchdown wouldn't have counted. It doesn't matter where the player's body is. It only matters where the ball is. The ball has to break the plane of the goal line, regardless of where the player is standing on the field.
When you stop the ball with your feet you 'trap' the ball.
There are three reasons why first basemen are often lefthanded. First, when a first baseman is holding a runner on first, if the pitcher tries to pick off that runner, this is not a force out, so the first baseman will have to tag the runner. This tag is much easier to make with the right hand. And, as you know, a left-handed player wears the glove on his right hand. Second, when a first baseman is trying to get a force put-out at first base, with another infielder throwing the ball to him, this is a force out, so he just has to have his foot on the base when he catches the thrown ball. To make the play just a little quicker, he will stretch his GLOVE hand out toward the fielder who is throwing the ball to him. If that glove is on his left hand, then his back is turned toward the batter running to first base, as well as to home plate. If, on the other hand, the glove is on his RIGHT hand, then his back is to the outfield, and he can, with a slight twist of his head, or even twitch of the eyes, see the entire infield, including the batter coming to first base. The third reason is a bit more complicated. Bear with me. The easiest way to throw a baseball is "across your body", which means, if you throw with your right hand, your left shoulder is forward of your right shoulder at the time you begin your throw. You can get much more force behind your throw this way than you can with your "good" shoulder forward, or with neither shoulder forward. In fact, except for easy "flip" throws, a fielder will always position his body and shoulders in such a way that he can throw across his body before making the throw. Most of the time, this doesn't require much effort because, for a right-handed third baseman, shortstop, or second baseman, the throw usually goes to first base. But if you want to see how a fielder re-positions himself so he can throw across his body, watch a right-handed second baseman make a throw (of more than 20 feet) to the shortstop at second base. But even for the second baseman, the vast majority of his throws are going to go to first base. For a shortstop or third baseman, when they're not throwing to first, they are usually throwing to second, so they're still throwing across their bodies. Point is, for all infielders EXCEPT the first baseman, the vast majority of throws are "across the body" for a right hander, which is why most second basemen, shortstops, and third basemen are right-handed. Now think about a first baseman. A first baseman is almost NEVER required to throw the ball during a play (though he often is the one to throw the ball back to the pitcher after the play is over). Most grounders go near the middle of the field, and the first baseman just has to stand on first and wait for the throw. Even when a grounder is hit to the first-baseman, he usually doesn't have to throw it, but just steps on the bag. But, every once in a while, a situation comes up that requires the first baseman to throw the ball during the play. Usually, that situation is a ground ball hit to the first baseman, with a runner on first and less than 2 outs. In this situation, the defense would like to turn a double play. One way to do this is for the first baseman to field the ball, step on first, then throw to second. But this has a couple of disadvantages. First, it's always faster to THROW a ball than to run to a base, and unless the first baseman is right on top of the bag when he fields the ball, he's not likely to have enough time to step on his base then throw to second in time to get the runner. Moreover, even if he can get the ball to second in time, the act of stepping on first base put the batter out, which removed the "force" condition on the runner. To get him out now, the fielder will have to TAG him rather than simply stepping on the base. The other method is a little easier, but by no means certain. After the first baseman fields the ball, he initially ignores the easy out at first base and throws to second, where the shortstop is moving toward the base. Timed perfectly, the shortstop catches the ball just as his foot touches second base, immediately recording the force out on the runner coming from first, and immediately throwing the ball back to first base. In the meantime, after the first throw, the first baseman runs back to first base and stands there, with his glove stretched out toward second base. (Sometimes, if the play pulls the first baseman way off the bag, the second baseman will cover first base). If the ball gets back to first base in time, the batter is out, and the defense has successfully turned a double play. This play rarely works because of the large amount of time required to make the two long throws. But when it does work, it's a thing of beauty. So what does all this have to do with why a first baseman is left-handed? Well, think about that throw that the first baseman has to make to second base to get the first out of the double play. Uncommon as it is, this throw is the most likely throw a first baseman will be required to make during an active play. And if he's right handed, he has to re-plant his feet, turning his body completely around, to be able to throw the ball across his body. Otherwise, he won't have nearly enough strength in the throw to get it to second base. But this maneuver takes time, and time is already precious when you're trying to get a double play on a grounder hit to first. On the other hand, if the first baseman is left-handed, he's already in a good position to make the throw to second base when he fields the ball. This fraction of a second saved can make all the difference between a fielder's choice and a double play. There's also a fourth reason, similar to the one above. In baseball, most non-pitchers can be divided into 3 basic groups: Catchers who are the most specialized defensive players, Outfielders who generally are the fastest runners (though not nessesarily the quickest to react) and have the longest arm range, and Infielders who have the quickest reaction times. Often times, aging catchers or outfielders may move to corner infield positions as they get older. If you throw with your left hand and are too slow to play outfield, you will also be unable to play Shortstop and Catcher, which are exclusively played in the MLB by right handed players because of the reason above, but in reverse. Second base and Third base are also positions best played by right handed players, though there are some lefties who play there. Therefore, most lefty infielders find themselves playing at first base once they start playing serious baseball and stick with it as they progress through their Baseball career. There has been a recent trend in the MLB going against the old the idea that left handed first basemen are always superior to right handed first basemen. In 2009, Mark Teixeira, who is a right handed first basemen, picked up the American League Golden Glove. Among the elite first basemen, a growing number are right handed, including Albert Pujols, Derrek Lee, the previously mentioned Mark Teixeira and Kevin Youkillis. The actual defensive advantages as stated in the first 3 reasons can be outweighed by an exceptional athlete or even the first basemen being a couple of inches taller. The final reason is that first base is generally the easiest and least physically taxing position in Baseball, at least to play at a competent level. Because of their scarcity, lefty hitters are usually more valuable than right hitters. So, when a lefty who is a poor fielder but a good hitter is found, they are often put at first base so as to minimize the damage done to that teams defense. This occurs the most in the National League where there are no designated hitters. This reason, like the one above, develops over the course of a players career.
Yes, it is touchdown. He can just say, "I dropped the ball because I thought had already scored. I wanted to celebrate."
According to MLB.com, "the distance between first base and third base is 127 feet."
Yes, it does, unless it bounces off of his feet. If it is off of his feet, he will take first base. If the ball is near is feet, then it counts.