answersLogoWhite
Baseball
Math and Arithmetic
Baseball Rules and Regulations

If the first baseman catches the ball with his feet is it an out?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-06-16 18:11:04
2010-06-16 18:11:04

A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession. To answer this question, the first baseman would have to transfer the ball to his hand or glove before the runner reached first base in order for it to be considered an out.

im pretty sure that as long as he put it in his hand or glove it would be an out no matter if the runner made it to the base or not

It would be an out if he were wearing his glove on his foot

2nd thought:

This is an interesting question. I am not sure of the situation, however, you would think that if the ball is caught firmly with the feet it should be ruled an out if the act of catching it was intentional (i.e a man with no arms playing baseball) -- I just bring this up.. because nobody thought Jim Abbott could play ball with only 1 hand, but he did.. so i am assuming a person who uses there feet for everything else could teach themselves how to play baseball --- far fetched, but just a thought, how how the ruling would really be made

Related Questions

User Avatar

in softball, a first baseman has to: -cover their base when a ball is hit to the infield and prepare for the throw -charge when the batter squares to bunt -be able to catch a ball that is coming at them really fast either from the third baseman, shortstop, or second baseman -be able to get to their base really quickly in case you are getting ready to catch a throw from the catcher if they are trying to pick off the person at first base -be able to catch wild throws anywhere within 5 square feet of the base this is what a first baseman has to do in order to be a good softball player. :D

User Avatar

No, the only thing that matters is where the ball is, if the ball is outside the box and he catches it, but his feet are inside the box, it is still hand ball.

User Avatar

Yes. In reverse, if his feet are outside the penalty area and he touches it with his hands inside it is not deliberate handling.

User Avatar

Yes. If the official scorer deems that an out would have been made had another fielder not made an error after the player who would have gotten the assist played the ball, the assist is given. If the first baseman drops a throw from an infielder that would have made an out on a ground ball, the infielder is given an assist and the first baseman is given an error. If the catcher throws a perfect strike to second base to catch a runner stealing and the second baseman drops the ball allowing the runner to be safe when he would have been out by five feet, the catcher is given an assist and the second baseman is given an error.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.